South Yorkshire League: Tickhill seal Championship title

Promoted Tickhill sealed the Championship title with a dominant display at Darfield.

Wednesday, 5th September 2018, 4:18 pm
Updated Wednesday, 5th September 2018, 4:21 pm
Champions: Tickhill CC

The Alderson Drive club, who will join Doncaster Town in next season’s ECB Yorkshire South Premier League, amassed 313 at School Street before skittling the hosts for 55.

Skipper Jordan Lowe was at his aggressive best for Tickhill with 87 from 55 balls and a boundary count of nine fours and five sixes.

James Doyle smashed 52, Scott Lowe struck 56 and earlier Lawrence Browes opened with 36.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sam Woodcock took some punishment but ended with 5-115 from 14 overs.

Darfield crumbled in response to the visitors’ huge total with only two players reaching double figures.

Michael Jepps snared 6-20 and Callum Stuart claimed 4-35.

Conisbrough’s quest for promotion ended with a seven wicket defeat at Houghton Main.

Captain Amit Kundra top scored for the visitors in their 162-9. Joe Farmer also opened with 35.

Michael Bates was the best of Houghton’s bowlers with 3-39.

Houghton only needed three wickets for their victory.

Ian Simon starred with 81 from 65 balls and a boundary count of 12 fours and three sixes. Biswick Kapala added 35.

Elsecar will join Tickhill in next season’s top flight after confirming their promotion with a hard fought victory over Wath.

Wicketkeeper Haris Hussain (72) and Damian De Vos (75) laid the foundations for Wath with a first wicket stand of 140.

James Barnard then stayed to the completion with 42 not out as the visitors, who lost six wickets, set Elsecar a target of 234.

Elsecar skipper Lesley Weekes claimed 3-43.

The hosts made a determined start to their innings with Paul Cummins (39) and Jason Meadows (56) sharing a stand of exactly 100 for the first wicket.

Peter Hatfield then made an excellent 55 as Elsecar completed a five wicket win with 2.4 overs remaining.