South Yorkshire League: Wath leapfrog Tickhill into second spot

Wath's Shawn DysonWath's Shawn Dyson
Wath's Shawn Dyson
Tickhill were replaced by Wath in the Championship promotion places after another sensational display from overseas star Shawn Dyson.

South African Dyson hit 114 not out off 97 balls to guide Wath to a four wicket win at Whiston Parish Church.

Victory moved the Moor Road side into second spot but Tickhill, who were not in action at the weekend, still have their promotion fate in their own hands.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Wath skipper Rob Barlow claimed excellent figures of 7-67 as Whiston batted first and posted 204 all out.

That total looked to be enough as the visitors declined to 97-6.

Step forward Dyson, who in typically powerful and aggressive fashion smashed his way to an unbeaten 114, with a boundary count of 19 fours and one six.

He was well supported by David Mace (33no) as the pair shared a stand of 108.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Sri Lankan Arosh Janoda was also in fine form with the bat in Conisbrough’s 152-run win at Coal Aston.

Janoda smashed eight fours and seven sixes on his way to 93 off 68 balls.

Scott Lowe also open with 35, skipper Nathan Smith contributed 50 and Jonathan Phillips made 44 in Conisbrough’s total of 320.

Coal Aston’s wickets fell at regular intervals with the exception of opener Tom Griffin who scored 41 and skipper Daniel Hemingway who held out for 65 not out in their total of 168 all out.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Janoda capped an impressive individual display by claiming 5-64 with the ball.

Sprotbrough’s hopes of a third straight promotion were all but ended by a 48-run defeat to Rockingham in Division One.

Rockingham, who moved to within two points of leaders Thorncliffe, posted 243-7.

Openers Corey Roebuck scored 55, Robin Singh 65 and Ben Dalton 55.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Sprotbrough skipper Ashley Ward opened with 32 and stumper Tom Kaye reached 41 as they settled for a point at 195-9.

The tormentor-in-chief was Nazakat Khan who had an excellent analysis of 7-69.

Defeat left Sprotbrough 17 points short of second-placed Rockingham with four games left to play.

Warmsworth recorded an impressive seven wicket win at Division Two leaders Upper Haugh to keep their promotion hopes very much alive.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Upper Haugh batted first and raised a total of 198-9. Chris Jevons took 3-54 and Lincoln Jacobs 4-44.

Skipper Liam Marshall (94no) and Rhys Mann (45) put on 137 runs for the third wicket as Warmsworth, one of four teams separated by just three points, claimed victory.

Second placed Tickhill B won by ten wickets at Monk Bretton. Lee Bradshaw starred with 70no.

Related topics: