Revealed: How many fines your school gives parents for term time holidays

A Doncaster school is dishing out more than three fines a week to parents who take holidays during term time.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 25th January 2016, 7:03 am
Updated Monday, 25th January 2016, 8:09 am
Taking holidays during term landed 3,531 fines for parents in Doncaster
Taking holidays during term landed 3,531 fines for parents in Doncaster

Figures obtained under the Freedom of Information Act reveal Outwood Academy (Adwick) to be dishing out more fines than any other school in Yorkshire, after 180 were given during September 2014 to August 2015.

It was one of two schools in the borough which gave more than 100 fines, with Owston Park Primary School the second highest school overall, and the highest primary school, after issuing 128 fixed penalty notices.

Overall, more fines are dished out to parents for term time holidays in Doncaster than anywhere else in the Yorkshire and Humberside region, with 3,531 in total. The second highest in the region is Bradford, with 3,507. Rotherham handed out only 148.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

There were only 16 schools in Doncaster which dished out no fines.

Parents of Armthorpe Shaw Wood Primary Academy received 97 fines 97, Danum Academy 81, Don Valley Academy 86, Hayfield Academy 83, Ridgewood Academy 81, Sir Thomas Wharton Academy 84, Town Field Primary Academy 84, and Trinity Academy 82.

Coun Nuala Fennelly, Doncaster Coucnil Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Schools, said: “Head teachers are responsible for deciding whether a fine should be issued to parents, based on guidance from the Department for Education and each case should be judged individually.

“Doncaster Council’s role is to administer the fines system and any funds received are reinvested in improving attendance.

“Currently, too many children in Doncaster are absent from school and attendance remains below the national average.

“This does need to be addressed as it is likely to have a significant impact on the children affected and their ability to secure a bright future for themselves and their families.

“Questions around consistency need to be addressed by the Department for Education.”

The number of fines issued has risen dramatically across Yorkshire since the Government changed the guidelines given to schools two years ago.

Outwood Academy (Adwick) is part of the Outwood Grange Academies Trust (OGAT).

Sir Michael Wilkins, academy principal and chief executive of OGAT, said: “​It is unequivocal that GCSE results achieved by students can be adversely effected by poor attendance.”

He said that the trust employed a range of strategies to ensure that students attend on a regular basis. “In extreme cases, where our repertoire has been exhausted, we will not hesitate to contact the local authority in order that parents understand their obligations and a fine may well be issued.”

Here are the number of fines issed for each Doncaster school between September 2014 and August 2015:

Adwick Primary School 38

All Saints Hooten Pagnell C of E Primary School 0

Arksey Primary School 2

Armthorpe Academy 54

Armthorpe Shaw Wood Primary Academy 97

Armthorpe Southfield Primary School 24

Armthorpe Tranmoor Primary School 23

Ash Hill Academy 74

Askern Moss Road Infant School 2

Askern Spa Junior School 18

Auckley Junior & Infant Academy 55

Balby Carr Community Academy 27

Balby Central Primary School 33

Barnburgh Primary School 42

Barnby Dun Primary Academy 25

Bawtry Mayflower Primary School 57

Bentley High Street Primary School 8

Bentley New Village Primary School 2

Bessacarr Primary School 25

Better Care Keys (KS4) 0

Branton St Wilfrid’s C of E Primary School 0

Campsmount Academy 68

Canon Popham C of E Primary School 0

Carcroft Primary School 11

Castle Academy 47

Conisbrough Balby Street Primary School 10

Conisbrough Ivanhoe Community School 69

Conisbrough Rowena Academy 22

Copley Junior School 0

Coppice Special School 2

Cusworth Centre 0

Danum Academy 81

De Warenne Academy 34

Denaby Main Primary School 7

Don Valley Academy 86

Doncaster College 0

Dunsville Primary Academy 1

Edenthorpe Hall Primary School 14

Edlington Victoria Primary School 9

Finningley St Oswalds C of E Primary 0

Gateway Centre 0

Grange Lane Infant Academy 7

Hall Cross Academy 5

Hatchell Wood Primary School 44

Hatfield Crookesbroom Academy 35

Hatfield Sheep Dip Lane Primary School 40

Hatfield Travis St Lawrence C of E Primary School 37

Hatfield Woodhouse Primary Academy 24

Hawthorn Primary School 25

Hayfield Academy 83

Hayfield Lane Primary School 5

Heatherwood Special School 0

Hexthorpe Primary School 71

Highfields Primary Academy 13

Hill Top Primary School 6

Holy Family Catholic Primary 11

Hungerhill Academy 15

Intake Primary School 26

Kingfisher Primary School 5

Kirk Sandall Infant School 18

Kirk Sandall Junior School 2

Kirkby Avenue Primary School 24

Lakeside Primary School 42

Littlemoor Childrens Centre and School 2

Long Toft Primary School 58

Mallard Primary School 53

Marshland Primary School 5

Mexborough Doncaster Road Junior School 14

Mexborough Highwoods Primary School 23

Montagu Academy 40

Mexborough Pitt Street Infant School 13

Mexborough Academy 46

Mexborough St John the Baptist C of E Primary School 4

Morely Place Junior School 0

North Ridge Community School 7

Norton Infant School 13

Norton Junior School 15

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Primary School 17

Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Primary School 8

Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic Primary School 20

Outwood Academy, Adwick 180

Owston Park Primary School 128

Park Primary School 58

Pennine View Special School 0

Pheasant Bank Academy 32

Plover Primary School 9

Richmond Hill Primary School 2

Ridgewood Academy 81

Rossington All Saints Academy 78

Rossington St Michaels C of E Primary School 70

Rossington Tornedale Infant School 29

Sandringham Primary School 19

Scawsby Rosedale Primary School 0

Scawsby Saltersgate Infant School 12

Scawsby Saltersgate Junior School 10

Scawthorpe Sunnyfields Primary School 22

Sir Thomas Wharton Academy 84

Sprotborough Orchard Infant School 3

St Albans Catholic Primary School 10

St Francis Xavier Catholic Primary School 25

St Josephs & St Theresa’s Catholic Primary School 10

St Marys Catholic Primary School 19

St Peters Catholic Primary School 0

Stainforth Kirton Lane Primary School 19

Stirling Primary School 58

Stone Hill Special School 4

The McAuley Catholic High School 0

Thorne Brooke Primary School 73

Thorne Green Top Primary School 53

Thorne King Edward Primary School 24

Tickhill Estfeld Primary School 44

Tickhill St Marys C of E Primary School 23

Toll Bar Primary School 2

Town Field Primary School 84

Trinity Academy 82

Wadworth Primary School 40

Warmsworth Primary School 60

Waverley Primary School 7

West Road Primary School 32

Willow Primary Academy 44

Windhill Primary School 0

Woodfield Primary School 7

Woodlands Primary School 51