General Election 2019 - Doncaster North: Former Labour leader Ed Miliband holds seat but only scrapes majority of just 2,300

Former leader of the Labour Party Ed Miliband retained his seat in Doncaster North – but his majority fell from a whopping 14,000 to just 2,300.

Friday, 13th December 2019, 4:29 pm
Doncaster North Labour candidate Ed Miliband, pictured. Picture: Marie Caley NDFP-12-12-19-Elections Doncaster 17-NMSY

Mr Miliband’s victory comes in a night of crushing defeats for Labour that has seen the party’s projected number of seats fall to just 201.

The Conservatives are on course for a landslide, and have won seats in northern Labour heartlands such as Leigh and Bltyh Valley.

Mr Miliband’s received 25,711 votes in 2017, which has been reduced by just under 10,000 votes, with the Conservative vote being split by the Brexit Party, who received 21,664 votes between them.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The votes received by each candidate are: Ed Miliband (Labour): 15,740

Joe Otten (Liberal Democrats): 1,476

Stevie Shaun Manion (Yorkshire Party): 959

Eddie Todd (Independent): 220

Andrew Stewart (Brexit Party): 8,294

Wendy Bailey (Independent): 188

Frank Lloyd Calladine (English Democrats): 309

Katrina Louise Sale (Conservative): 13,370

Neil James Wood (Independent) 142