Kill Your Darlings say new Sheffield band Children of the State

Former Vultures guitarist Nathan Keeble and Doncaster singer-songwriter John McCullagh have united in a new Sheffield-based four-piece.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 7th July 2018, 7:00 pm
Updated Monday, 16th July 2018, 4:48 pm
Children of the State.
Children of the State.

Children of the State, also featuring bassist Corey Clifton and Vultures drummer Conor O’Reilly, describe themselves as a “four-piece peyote punk outfit based in Sheffield”.

Their name is derived from both what Kim Jong Un calls the people of North Korea and what the FBI dubbed the Manson Family in 1960s’ Hollywood, with the music providing “a pulsing backbeat to the stark dystopian reality of modern British life”.

Their debut EP Kill Your Darlings is out on Friday, July 13, on Spotify, Itunes, Amazon etc.

A spokesman said: “The individual songs offer a wonderful and frightening glimpse into the world of the Children of the State, from the strung-out electronic psych trip of the title track Kill Your Darlings, the abrasive Damned-inspired Miss America, the Celtic folk-waltz of Tomorrow We’ll Drift and back down to planet earth with the apocalyptic slow jam of The Afterglow.”