Shortlist for Doncaster Sports Awards in unveiled

SPORTING stars from across Doncaster are warming up for a prestigious awards ceremony after the shortlist for prizes was announced.

Competitors who take part in a diverse range of sports will battle for honours in the annual Doncaster Sports Awards.

The event aims to celebrate the driving forces - individuals, teams and clubs - behind the borough’s thriving sporting scene.

The winners of 12 separate categories will be unveiled at a glittering ceremony next month.

One of the night’s hotly anticipated gongs sees Doncaster Rovers Belles captain Vicky Exley pitted against England basketball star Sarah Naylor, teenage Great Britain heptathlete Liam Ramsay and disabled swimming world championship finalist Chloe Selman in the Sports Personality of the Year category.

Other big prizes include the Junior Sports Personality of the Year, Team of the Year, Disabled Sports Personality of the Year and Outstanding Moment of the Year.

And one dedicated Doncaster sporting hero will be honoured for their efforts over the years with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The awards, organised and hosted by the Keepmoat Stadium, take place on May 13.

Shane Chalmers, chief executive of the Stadium Management Company, said the excellent standard of nominations provoked lengthy debate among the judging panel.

He added: “While there were many names we expected to see there were also a great deal of new names and a superb variety of sports represented.

“We are looking forward to welcoming those who have been shortlisted and those who want to celebrate our region’s sporting achievements.”

Tickets for the event cost £18 per person or £150 for a table of ten. The evening includes a two-course meal. Guests can book their places at the stadium or by calling the ticket office on 01302 762587.

* The full list of the nominations for the Doncaster Sports Awards:

Sports Personality of the Year

Vicky Exley – Ladies Football

Sarah Naylor – Basketball

Liam Ramsay - Athletics

Chloe Selman - Swimming

Junior Sports Personality of the Year

Aiden Davies – Athletics

Haydyn Fiori – Skiing

Max Litchfield - Swimming

Joseph Wells – Gymnastics

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year

Gordon Laidlaw – Cricket

Chloe Selman – Swimming

Louis Speight – Athletics

Ben Sweeney - Swimming

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner to be announced on the night

Unsung Hero

This award will be voted for by listeners to Trax FM

Coach/Manager of the Year (Amateur)

John Butler – Football

Ken Blood – Boxing

Bruce Bewley – Athletics

Ben Mawson - Football

Hope for the Future

Haydyn Fiori – Skiing

Liam Ramsay – Athletics

Lucy Chappell – Athletics

Natalie Matthews - Swimming

Team of the Year

Armthorpe Rovers Under 14’s – football

Balby Carr Sports College - Football

Doncaster Athletics Young Athletes League team – Athletics

Doncaster Belles Under 10’s – Girls football

Sporting Venue of the Year

Doncaster Athletics Club Stadium

Balby Carr Sports College

Doncaster Gymnastics Academy

Amateur Sports Club of the Year

Bentley Colliery C.C – Cricket

Danum Disabled Sports Team – Athletics & Boccia

Doncaster Athletics Club – Athletics

Doncaster Dartes Swimming Club

Outstanding Sporting Moment

Ashton Harrison – Athletics

Max Litchfield – Swimming

Ben Sweeney – Swimming

Joseph Wells - Gymnastics

Sports Business of the Year

Doncaster Cultural and Leisure Trust - Various

Dons Community Foundation – Rugby League

Doncaster Rugby League Club