Doncaster Knight: Captain Challinor scoops top award

Doncaster Knights' Matt Challinor. Picture: Andrew Roe
Doncaster Knights' Matt Challinor. Picture: Andrew Roe

Skipper Matt Challinor has been crowned Knights Players’ Player of the Season following their promotion and league-winning heroics.

The powerhouse lock has captained the side brilliantly - guiding Doncaster to the National One title on the final day of the season following a dramatic victory at Blackheath as the Knights bounced back into the Championship at the first time of asking.

Knights players, staff and fans all gathered at Castle Park this week to celebrate the team’s incredible achievements in what was a memorable season for the club.

Speeches from director of rugby Clive Griffiths and club president Tony de Mulder were followed by the awards.

Mat Clark’s sublime touchdown against Cinderford on home soil was voted try of the season as scrum-half Bruno Bravo scooped the Fans’ Player of the Year.

Griffiths also presented Michael Hills with the ‘Top Gun’ award for his efforts in defence and Jack Bergmanas was named as Most Valued Team Member for his loyal contributions throughout.

Tyson Lewis and Roberto Santamaria’s season-long work in the club’s community department was recognised as they were jointly awarded Community Player of the Year and fly-half Paul Roberts picked up the Unsung Hero gong following his endeavours with the club’s u11s side.

Lightning Lewis also received an official Guinness World Record certificate for the fastest try ever recorded in a rugby union match following his stunning seven-second score against Old Albanian in November.

A special presentation was also made to returning lock Glen Kenworthy to recognise the New Zealander’s 200 club appearances.