Promotion boost for Dons

Doncaster Rugby League Football Club logo
Doncaster Rugby League Football Club logo

DONCASTER RLFC will not get a better opportunity than next season to gain promotion back to the Co-operative Championship, after the RFL confirmed that four teams will be promoted from Championship One.

The league champions, two play-off finalists and the next highest placed club in Championship One will all be promoted in 2012 as part of a massive restructuring of the sport.

The Championship - the next tier down from Super League - is to be expanded to 14 teams in 2013, meaning there will be no relegation from the second tier next season.

Four new clubs will also enter Championship One in 2013, with an announcement due on the successful clubs over the next few months.

Tony Miller’s Dons finished fifth in last season’s Championship One.

Ralph Rimmer, the RFL’s chief operating officer, heralded a bold “new landscape” for Rugby League following the conclusion of the strategic review.

He said: “One of the main motivations behind conducting the review was the need for sustainability at this level and it is vital that the changes made strengthen both the competitions and existing clubs.

“We have the opportunity to change the Rugby League landscape.

“This is of huge importance to the game and we’re looking at unearthing new players, new spectators and new viewers.”

The RFL also announced that up to 32 games from the Co-operative Championship, Championship One and Northern Rail Cup will be televised live by Premier Sports next season.