London Skolars 8 Doncaster 48: DONS ARE LEAGUE CHAMPIONS - VIDEO highlights

THE Dons secured the first league title in their 61 year history with a comfortable win at London Skolars.

It proved to be a record setting afternoon all round for Doncaster with Lee Waterman breaking the previous best for tries in a season.

Doncaster fans welcome their team onto the pitch. Picture: Rob Terrace

Doncaster fans welcome their team onto the pitch. Picture: Rob Terrace

Waterman burst through from full back in the mid-point of the second half to move ahead of Luke Gale’s 2008 effort in the record books.

The task looked a difficult one for the usually expansive Dons with the Skolars’ pitch a narrow one at the home of the famous Haringey Athletics Club.

But they burst out of the blocks faster than former resident Linford Christie with three tries in the first 15 minutes, roared on by a vociferous travelling support.

The game became a simple for the Dons, particularly in the second half when the Skolars looked well beaten.

Carl Hughes, Chris Spurr and Lucas Walshaw all went over to give the Dons a strong advantage in the early stages.

The Dons went off the boil in the mid-point of the half and the Skolars took advantage to get off the mark as John Paxton collected a big kick on the line.

After a Danny Cowling effort was waved off by the referee, Walshaw made no mistake to grab his second of the game.

Cowling grabbed one of his own after good movement of the ball from the Dons but the last say of the half went to the hosts with Paxton going over.

The Skolars started the second half well but the Dons were first off the mark with Dean Colton completing a breakaway.

And then came Waterman’s time to shine as Paul Cooke’s superb pass gifted him his record-sealing try.

Kyle Kesik broke superbly from well inside his own half and was stopped two yards short of the line but the ball was moved superbly out to Spurr for his second.

And Waterman ensured the try scoring record now stands at 34 for the season as the Dons strolled through the well-beaten opposition.

Dons: Waterman, Colton, Spurr, Cowling, Sanderson, Cooke, Fawcett, Castle, Emmett, Spiers, Kelly, Walshaw, Hughes.

Subs: Kesik, Edwards, Lawton, Robinson.