Doncaster RLFC 62 West Wales Raiders 24: Dons fans return for comfortable victory

Doncaster RLFC ran out comfortable winners against perennial strugglers West Wales Raiders as fans returned to the Keepmoat Stadium for the first time in 14 months.

Sunday, 23rd May 2021, 4:19 pm
Dons beat West Wales Raiders in League One. Photo courtesy of Doncaster RLFC

Richard Horne’s side were nowhere near their best but still ran in 11 tries to secure their second win from three games in Betfred League One.

Around 400 Doncaster supporters returned to the Keepmoat for the first time since last March to watch their team.

They were later joined by Sheffield Eagles and Featherstone Rovers fans ahead of their 4.30pm kick off in the Betfred Championship.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Raiders held their own for a large portion of the contest but a second half injury to star man and former Dons ace Rangi Chase allowed the home side to take control.

Doncaster fell behind early to a Joseph Burke score but converted tries from Matty Beharrell and Tom Halliday put them ahead before Michael Holden rounded off a nice move and William Ramsey’s conversion levelled the game at 12-12.

When the home side did take it up a notch the Raiders struggled to live with them.

Jason Tali ran clear to edge the Dons back in front on the half hour mark and Sam Smeaton rounded off a slick move to make it 22-12 at the break thanks to Beharrell’s third conversion.

Chase went over quickly after the re-start but Ross Peltier’s converted try re-established a ten-point cushion.

Brandon Douglas got his name on the trysheet before jet-heeled winger Halliday’s superb individual try produced the loudest cheer of the day.

Sam Herron scored the visitors’ fourth try but the Dons piled on the points in the closing stages as scores from Aaron York (2), Oliver Greensmith and Alex Holdstock sealed a comfortable win.

Dons: Taulapapa, Halliday, Smeaton, Tali, Greensmith, Boas, Beharrell, Mudoti, Whitmore, Douglas, Johnson, Ollett-Hobson, Wilkinson. Replacements: Johnston, Holdstock, Peltier, York.

West Wales: Ramsey, Webb, Cowburn, Evans, Holden, Stroud, Chase, Evans, Bateman, Allen, Mulkeen, Davies, Burke. Replacements: Morgan, E Badham, I Badham, Herron.