Top jockeys neck and neck


YORKSHIRE-based jockeys Paul Hanagan and Silvestre de Sousa may occupy first and second places in the British Jockeys’ Championship, but the places are reversed when it comes to winners on Yorkshire racecourses.

With Doncaster staging the final meeting of the 2011 British Flat Season on turf this Saturday, De Sousa has an unassailable lead in the county to land the Sky Bet Trophy as top rider on the Yorkshire courses for the first time, with 67 winners – 10 clear of Hanagan.

Bidding to become the national champion for the second successive season, Hanagan has been the leading rider in Yorkshire for the past four years, achieving a record total of 86 winners last year when de Sousa finished runner-up with 64.

There’s still everything to play for in the battle to be the leading trainer on Yorkshire courses, with Malton trainers, Tim Easterby and Richard Fahey only separated by a solitary winner in Easterby’s favour (51 to 50) with the Sky Bet Trophy at stake.

Fahey has been the leading trainer on the county’s courses for the past three seasons - his winning total last year was 66. Easterby was previously the top trainer in Yorkshire on three occasions – 1999, 2001 and 2002.

The Sky Bet Trophies will be presented to the respective winners at the ‘Go Racing in Yorkshire’ Annual Awards Lunch in December.