Golf weekly: Knowles knows best in shortened stableford

editorial image

There was some very high scoring in Doncaster Golf Club’s mens’ Monday Stableford, writes John Molloy.

This was helped by playing a somewhat shortened course due to the use of temporary greens as a result of waterlogging in some areas.

The winner with 48 points was Ray Knowles, followed in second place by John Molloy with 45 points.

Sharing third place on 44 points were Richard Atherton, Deniz Moullali and Paddy Roche with Ken Firbank (42) sixth.

The ladies’ Monday Stableford went to Sue Harbon with 42 points ahead of Denise Andrew in second place with 41 points.

Some way behind came Maria Clark (33) and Kim Turner (30) in the following places.

The fourth round of the Lady Captain’s Winter Betterball Stableford also went to Sue Harbon together with partner Julie Horncastle with their score of 25 points.

In second place were Sarah Newton and Kirsty Wilson (23), followed by a three-way tie for third place on 22 points between Sue Erskine and Anne Lockwood, Maria Clark and Beryl Batchelor and Sheila Robinson and Chris Ellis.

The Saturday Niblicks Stableford resulted in a comfortable win for Ian Robinson with 41 points.

Second place went to John Naylor (36) with Matthew Brearley (34) third.

The Sunday Niblicks Stableford went to Roy Parr with 38 points, followed in the minor places by Stuart Hall, Andrew Marshall and John Naylor who all carded 35s.

Thornhurst Park’s Midweek Medal was won by Kevin Phillipson whose net 69 just pipped Bob Berry’s 70.

Third place went to Colin Woodhouse (77)

The Saturday Medal was also close with Dave Smith (65) just edging out John Selby (66).

Following on in third place was Les Faulkner (69).

The Sunday Stableford was won by Paul Phillips with 40 points ahead of John Selby (38) in second place and Roy Maskerry (37) third.

At Doncaster Town Moor the Sunday Am/Am was won by the team consisting of Alan Hutchinson, Gary Parnham, Alan Meek and Ian Oliver with 83 points.

Second place went to Steve Wyke, Richard Scaife, Tom Kirk and Eddie Pape (82).

They were followed in third place by Steve Barker, Mal Deighton, Terry Weir and Steve Silverwood (81).