Golf weekly by John Molloy: Handy Andy’s hole-in-one steals the show at Town Moor

ANDY Pickersgill’s hole-in-one on the 17th was the highlight of Doncaster Town Moor’s Christmas Am-Am Medal.

The event was won by the team consisting of Dean Hubery, John Hubery, John Lorraine and Michael O’Sullivan with a score of 124.

In second place were Keith Stoddart, Dave Wood, Neil Wood and Shaun Bowes (128).

Mark O’Reilly, Steve O’Reilly, Mickey Shinn and Stan Usher finished third on 129.

Thornhurst Park’s Anniversary Stableford Medal went to Derek Rowland who recorded a net 68.

A tie for second place on 69 saw John Selby edge out Tony Wood on countback.

Rowland also featured in the Midweek Stableford but his 32 points was only good enough for second place.

The winner was Brian Kaye on 33 points with George Andrewatha (30) third.

The Saturday Stableford was won by Kevin Phillipson with 36 points.

Roy Maskerry (33) was second with Tony Wood (32) third.

Paul Curtiss took the Sunday Medal with 71 followed by Colin Woodhouse (72) and Maskerry (76) filling the minor places.

Doncaster Golf Club staged its annual match between teams representing the captain and the vice-Captain last Saturday.

All male club members can join in and two sides of 24 players took part in 12 four-ball matches.

The contest was closely fought with the captain’s team emerging on top by 6 1/2 matches to 5 1/2.

The Monday Stableford was won by Allan Beaumont with 38 points.

In second place was Jim McLeod (36) with a tie for third place on 35 points between Stewart Eland and Howard O’Neill.

The ladies’ EWGA Medal 12 resulted in a comfortable win for Sue Salmon with net 70.

Second was Sarah Newton (74) with Beryl Batchelor (75) third.

In fourth place came Wendy Parker followed by a tie for fifth on 77 between Kim Turner, Chris Miller and Jill McGarvie.

The ladies’ Wednesday Stableford went to Lynne Brown with 33 points ahead of a tie on 31 points for second place between Julie Horncastle and Sue Harbon.

The Sunday Niblicks Stableford was won by John Haig on countback from Jez Garton both finishing with 35 points. Peter Scott was third with 34 points.

In Wheatley’s rearranged Stableford No 4, Elaine Sowerby was a comfortable winner with 42 points.

Second was Joyce Norman (37) with Moira Crellin (35) third.