Golf: Lockwood claims title in Stableford Series

ANNE Lockwood came out on top in the seventh round of the Lady Captain’s Winter Stableford Series at Doncaster Golf Club, writes JOHN MOLLOY.

Lockwood’s score of 22 was enough to fend off Denise Andrew (21), Sue Erskine (20) and Barbara Fox (20).

Her victory also saw her crowned Division Three champion with an aggregate score for the best four rounds of 82 points, ahead of Nesta Lupson (80) and Linda Bell (75).

Lynne Brown claimed the Division One title with 78, ahead of a tie for second place on 77 between Barbara Fox and Cynthia Smith.

Division Two was won by Janet Green (75) followed by Beryl Batchelor (73) and Sue Salmon (71).

The Monday Stableford, which was the first qualifying event, saw junior member George Austerberry tie with Duncan Hughes on 39 points.

Stan Anderson and John Molloy tied for third with 38, followed by another tie on 37 between Rob James and Graham Needham.

The Seniors’ Spring Competition was won by Barry Smith with 42, well clear of Stan Haywood (38) and Dinu Raithatha (37).

Carl Walker won the Saturday Niblicks Stableford with 39, comfortably ahead of George Lacey (33) and Nigel Nattress (31).

The Rabbits Stableford went to a countback with Frank Burke just pipping Stan Haywood after both finished on 40 points.

The NFA Stableford on Saturday afternoon saw Andy Vickers with 40 points come out just ahead of a tie for second between Ben Ward and Colin Straw on 39.

Simon Hickson and Dick Buckle prevailed in the final of the Maurice Birkett Winter Foursomes after being taken to a 19th hole by Rob Woodcock and Martin Curran.

The Sunday Niblicks Stableford went to Jeff Coupe with 37 points, followed by Ian Robinson (36), Roy Parr (35) and Kevin McGarry (34).

Thornhurst Park’s midweek Stableford went to Ben Kurek with 44 points followed by Roy Maskery (41) and Ian Walsh (37).

The Saturday Medal saw Colin Woodhouse with a net 67 beat John Sandham (68) and David Johnson (70).

John Selby with 43 points took the Sunday Stableford with Ian Jackson (40) and Bob Berry (40) second and third.