GOLF: Fenton’s fine 43 secures victory

editorial image

DAVE Fenton got the 2013 competitive year underway at Doncaster Golf Club by winning the Monday Stableford with an impressive score of 43 points.

Paddy Roche, Phil Brumfield and Paul Byron shared second place on 41 points with Roland Holm (40) on his own in fourth place.

Ken Hawley and Tony Buckton tied for sixth with 39 points and there was another tie for eighth place on 38 points between Martin Curran and Dean Jones.

The Saturday Niblicks Stableford was won by George Lacey with 41 points. In second place on 38 points was Paul Wright with John Haigh (33) third.

The Sunday Niblicks was much closer with Steve Thrall’s 35 points just pipping Henry Masterson and Kevin Coleman who both returned 34, the forrmer securing second place on countback.

The new Club Captain Mike Lynes got his year of office off to a fine start last Sunday by striking the ball straight down the middle of the first fairway at his drive-in.

Thornhurst Park’s Saturday Stableford went to Dave Smith with 41 points. Close behind in second place was John Selby with 40 points followed by Roy Reeves (39) third.

Selby went one better in the Sunday Medal with a winning score of 68. Second place was taken by Roy Maskerry with 69 followed in third place by Paul Phillips on 71.

Doncaster Town Moor’s first competitive action of the year was the Saturday Stableford which was won by Stuart Hanson with 41 points.

Ian Siddle took second place from Neil Wood on countback, both returnung scores of 39 points.

The Sunday Betterball Medal needed countback to sort out the first two places with two pairs returning 59s. Once the cards had been closely examined Paul Miller and Harold Bodle were declared the winners ahead of Steve O’Rielly and Mickey Shinn.

In third place on 60 were Gordon and Dean Roberts.