Golf: Doncaster battles it out for cup honours

editorial image

Doncaster Golf Club held its Woodhouse, Nettleton and Watt Trophy scratch competitions within handicap bands, writes John Molloy.

The Woodhouse Trophy for handicaps up to 8 saw joint winners in Phil Marshall and Daniel Mould who both scored 73. There was also a tie for third place on 74 between Neil Allen and Stuart Rawson.

The Nettleton Trophy (handicaps 9 to 14) was won by Gary Garside with 78. Sharing second place on 79 were John West and John Haigh while Gary Elliott (80) was fourth.

The Watt Trophy (handicaps 15 to 28) was also shared with Leigh Wilson and Tony Buckton both scoring 86. Stuart Hall was third with 88 ahead of Ray Black in fourth place with 89.

The leading 8 competitors from all three competitions qualify for the Club Championship. On this occasion all 8 came from the Woodhouse Trophy field.

The second qualifying round of the Hann-Smith Medal, postponed on its original date due to bad weather, was held and won by Paul Carter with net 66. Matthew Gibson took second place with 67.

Other leading scores were Division 1: First place Neil Prior 67, joint second place on 69 Paul Bilous, Robin Newton and Thomas Ciullo.

Division 2: joint first place M Vickers and Paul Jennings 68, joint third Andrew Marshall and Gary Stacey 69.

Division 3: First Ray Eanor 69, second John Naylor 72.

The Mixed Monday Stableford was won by Tony Wesley with 41 points. Second place went to Alan Fowler with 40 while Warren Moores, Ray Leyland and Sue Harbon (the leading lady competitor) shared third place with 39.

Altogether 9 ladies took part.

The Saturday Niblicks Stableford went to Thomas Machin with 33 points followed in second place by Kevin Coleman (30).

Countback was needed to sort out the leading positions n Thornhurst Park’s Midweek Medal as both James Taylor, who came first, and Tony Wood, second, carded net 71s. Third place went to Brian Clancy with 73.

The Sunday Medal saw a clear win for Peter Unwin with 72. Second place went to Lee Faulkner with 77 while Alison Wordsworth (85) was some distance behind in third place.