Doncaster Athletic Club: Davies and Chappell take centre stage at Keepmoat

Left to right, Lucy Chappell, Terry Bailey and Aiden Davies. Photo: Andy Davies
Left to right, Lucy Chappell, Terry Bailey and Aiden Davies. Photo: Andy Davies

Doncaster Athletic Club honoured two of its brightest stars at their annual awards presentation dinner at the Keepmoat Stadium.

Aiden Davies and Lucy Chappell, both coached by Bruce Bewley, received awards to commemorate their respective records over the years in the English Schools Track & Field Championships from Grade 5 Track Official Terry Bailey.

Bailey was also honoured for his part in helping deliver the athletics facility at the stadium ten years ago and his selection as an assistant track judge for this year’s World Championships being held in London.

Club chairman Kev Lincoln also paid tribute to Davies’ feat at the International Combined Events Championship in Prague earlier this year when finishing second overall in the Under-23 event and being Great Britain’s top points scorer.

Lincoln also singled out vet-55 runner Caroline Wheelhouse for praise. She ended the year ranked No 1 in the National Power 10 rankings over both the half marathon and 20 mile distances in her age group and recorded the fourth best time over 10 miles, sixth over 10k and seventh in the marathon, and the efforts of Carl Ryde.

George Phillips was the club’s leading performer at men’s U-20 level in the South Yorkshire Road Race League.

Wayne Martison was the club’s best performer in the men’s senior team with Steve Fox (vet-40), Adrian Fearn (vet 45) and Alan Carson (vet-50) all top scoring in their respective age groups.

Nicola Devine (senior women), Marie-Louise Taylor (vet-40), Rosie Fells (vet-45), Sharon Carson (vet-50) and Susan Forbes (vet-55) won their respective age groups.

Dan Winmill, who set up the successful club academy last year, and men’s captain Martin James, described as ‘inspirational’ by the club chairman, both received new Club Hero awards as did ever-present youngsters Trinity Dooley-Williams and Sophie and Caroline James.

England Athletics national coach David Lowes presented Endurance awards to Molly Butterworth and George Rowland and runners-up Lisa Fouweather and George Phillips.

He also presented SY Cross Country awards to the following age-group winners:

Girls: U-11: Trinity Dooley-Williams, U-13: Isabel Robinson, U15: Tiegan Paterson.

Boys: U-11: Lysander Dawson, U-13: Edward Phillips, U-15: George Rowland.

Women: U-17: Louise Fouweather, vet-35: Rose James, vet-40 Janet Kerry, vet-45: Sharon Maughan, vet-55: Caroline Wheelhouse.

Men: U-17: Nishan Singh, U-20: George Phillips, senior: Lee Milburn, vet-40: Martin James, vet-50: Simon Wright, vet-60: Mick Page, vet-70: Anthony O’Connor.

Terry Bailey presented Northern Track & Field League awards to: Caitln Herbert, Niamph McCann, Rebecca Scott, Claire Winmill, Christian Grant, Rick Housley and Tom Matthewson.

Journalist Steve Hossack presented club British Men’s League awards to: George Phillips (gold), Callum Wilson (silver) and Kallum Silcox (bronze).

He also presented the club’s Pacer Awards. Recipients included Sharon Fieldhouse who trained with and guided visually-impaired runner Sharon Maughan in last year’s London Marathon.

The following top-scored for the club in the Youth Development League: Girls: U-13: Niamh Latibeaudiere, U-15: Kirbi Taylor. Boys: U-13: Josh Wilson, U-15: Alex Colbeck. Female: U-17: Sophie Mills, U-20: Caitlin Herbert. Men: U-17: Phillip Clark, U-20: Callum Wright.

Life memberships were awarded to Nicole Lannie, who competed in the English Schools 100m hurdles, Sophie Mills, who represented Wales in 4x100m relay in the Celtic Games as well as running the 100m for the Welsh Development squad, George Phillips (English Schools steeplechase), Molly Butterworth (English Schools middle distance) and Carl Ryde, who represented Great Britain in the Toronto Marathon as well as setting new club records in the London Marathon (2 hours 33 minutes) and the Salford 10k (31.37).

The Bernard Minnikin (Memorial) Trophy was won by the Hookway family.

Businessman Keith Winter presented the disability awards to William Baxter, Matthew Whitehead and Leaha Dixon.