Alan ends long wait for title with great hat-trick

Alan Broughton wins the over 60-&  65, playing for Parklands
Alan Broughton wins the over 60-& 65, playing for Parklands

PARKLANDS’ Alan Broughton was the toast of the Doncaster & District Bowls Association’s annual presentation evening at the Catholic Club.

He became the first bowler in the League’s history to win the Pensioners’ Merit, the Over-60s Merit and the Over-60s Doubles Merit in the same season.

Lee Davies, Darren Stevenson & Steve Barker

Lee Davies, Darren Stevenson & Steve Barker

Alan had never won any Doncaster League title - finishing runner-up on four occasions over the years - prior to beating Bawtry’s Margaret Smith 21-15 in the Pensioners’ Merit.

He went on to beat Bawtry’s Barry Binks 21-18 in the Over-60s Merit before linking up with Parklands’ team-mate Mick Coulson to beat Bawtry pairing Keith Bullock and Ted Owens 21-18 in the final.

Maltby BC duo Darren Stevenson and Ross Meese won the Doncaster Doubles crown for the first time, beating last season’s runners-up Keith Ryde and John Richardson (Armthorpe) 21-19 in the final.

Richardson fared better in the Men’s Merit where he beat Unison’s Steve Shannon 21-14 to take the title for the second time.

Keith & Adam Dawson

Keith & Adam Dawson

Richardson also won the Individual Merit for the sixth time after posting a 21-9 win over Yorkshire Main’s Matthew Holmes.

Woodland Park’s Andy McIntosh took the honours in the President’s Shield, beating Wickersley’s Brian Gee 21-16. He also beat Broughton 21-8 in the Hospice final.

Father-and-son pairing Keith and Adam Dawson (Yorkshire Main) romped to a 21-2 win over Pilkington Recreation pairing Hannah Brown and Craig Rumney in the Alan Haries Memorial Trophy final. It was Keith’s first trophy win in 37 years of bowling.

The Pilks’ duo enjoyed better fortunes in the Mixed Doubles where they beat Yorkshire Main’s Hilary Bennett and Terry Mosley 21-13.

Stevenson, Steve Barker and Lee Davies teamed up to take the Triples title.

Stevenson sentenced Broughton to a third final defeat of the season after chalking up a 21-10 win in the Doncaster Champion of Champions’ final.

Stevenson and Meese also helped Maltby beat Thorpe Marsh Bentley 178-133 in the Brooke Farm Handicap final.

Yorkshire Main B finally got to lift the Eric Warren Handicap trophy, after three defeats in the final, after pipping Pilks Recreation C 185-182.

Armthorpe A won the Bufton Cup for the 11th time when beating first-time finalists Carcroft WMC, 84-45.