Juniors take the crown in Hickleton competition

The juniors won Hickleton’s annual Martin Weir Trophy - a total points stableford contested by teams of nine – with a score of 284 points.

Wednesday, 21st August 2019, 12:14 am
Updated Wednesday, 21st August 2019, 1:10 am
The juniors of Hickleton GC

The ladies’ team (267 points) claimed second spot with the men’s team (252 points) finishing third.

Doncaster Golf Club’s Josh Berry retained his North of England U14 title.

The Doncaster youngster carded a two over par round on the Thursday before posting a three under par score the following day to win by a shot.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Jake Causier (nett 66) won the club’s Bessacarr Medal competition. He also carded the best gross score. Craig Clingan (nett 67) finished runner-up.

The club played the fifth round of their Hann Smith medal competition on Saturday with Ian Atkinson (nett 66) claiming top spot with James McLeod (nett 67) finishing in the runner-up spot.

Davy Smith (One), Francis Burke (Two) and Glenn Parr (Three) won their respective divisional competitions.

Smith (71) recorded the best gross score of the day.

Paul Chambers (39 points) took the honours in Doncaster Town Moor’s President’s Day men’s stableford courtesy of the OCB ruling.

Mick Jones (39 points) finished second with Junior Crehan (37 points) completing the top three.

Juliet Swinbourne (31) had more to spare when winning the ladies’ competition from runner-up Kath Smith (28) and third-placed Cynthia Pickersgill (26).

Pete Spavin (39 points) won the club’s Division One stableford on Saturday. Aiden Tallentire (39 points) claimed the runners-up spot with Michael Sowerby jnr (37) finishing third.

Les White (36 points) won the Division Two competition with Alan McKercher (34) and Tony Boyle (33) completing the top three.

Warren Derbyshire and Michael Gilmore (47 points) proved the pairing to beat in Sunday’s better-ball stableford.

Steve Turner and Gary Fendall (44 points) pipped Peter Miller and Danny Walsh (44) for second spot on the OCB ruling.

Mandy Walsh (40 points) won Thornhurst Park’s midweek ladies’ stableford. Menna Davies (36) bagged the runners-up spot with Julie Robinson (33) pipping Mary Shepherd (33) for third spot.

Lynn Pether (86-15-71), who also recorded the lowest gross score, won the club’s midweek medal. Kevin Martin (88-15-73) finished two shots of the pace with Robert Pether (99-22-77) finishing third.

The first of two monthly medal competitions was won by Craig Robertson (86-16-70) with Ken Hall (83-8-75) recording the lowest gross score when finishing second with Kevin Martin (91-15-76) claiming third spot.

Michael Preston (94-21-73) won the second one played the following day with Barry James (94-21-73) and Ian Walsh (86-12-74), who recorded the lowest gross score, also finishing in the top three.

David Langham (39 points) carded the winning score in the club’s Sunday stableford.

Roy Smith (35) finished runner-up with Michael Preston (34) seeing off the challenge of David Hill and Stuart Feast, who also scored 34 points.