Two former Doncaster Rovers players named in EFL Team of the Decade

Two former Doncaster Rovers players have been voted into the EFL Team of the Decade.

Monday, 23rd December 2019, 4:58 pm
Updated Tuesday, 31st December 2019, 1:10 pm
Billy Sharp

Billy Sharp and George Friend were both named in the side following voting which the league says involved 60,000 respondents.

Striker Sharp was one of Rovers’ top performers during the 2010s, over three spells which included him becoming the club's record signing.

His initial loan move from Sheffield United began in 2009, with 15 goals in 33 appearances that season.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sharp then transferred to Rovers in the summer of 2010 for a club record £1.15m.

Over 18 months he scored 26 goals in 51 appearances, earning a switch to promotion-chasing Southampton for a reported £1.8m

EFL Team of the Decade: Kasper Schmeichel; George Friend, Harry Maguire, Wes Morgan, Ian Harte; Anthony Knockaert, Wes Hoolahan, Peter Whittingham, Matt Ritchie; Jordan Rhodes, Billy Sharp.