Local football: Doncaster Deaf College to join Senior League

DONCASTER College for the Deaf are among five new teams to have been accepted into the Doncaster Senior League.

Denaby Main, Scawthorpe Scorpions, Stainforth Athletic and Westwoodside Rangers will join the college in next season’s Division One after being elected at the league’s annual meeting.

The meeting saw league secretary Lol Doyle pay tribute to last season’s three new teams, who each got their hands on some silverware.

Denaby United won the Division One title, Scawthorpe and Bentley Rhinos took the Division One KO Cup, while Shafton Villa won the Sheffield and Hallamshire FA Junior Cup.

Doyle also congratulated Sutton Rovers and Hemsworth Town on winning the Premier Division and KO Cup respectively, along with Yorkshire Main’s Central Midlands League side which retained the FA Challenge Cup.

The Good Conduct Shield was awarded to Hemsworth MW.