LIST: Doncaster Rovers loan players - and where are they now?

Ryan Mason
Ryan Mason

Darren Ferguson is not too concerned with FIFA’s plans to scrap the emergency loan window.

However, like many other Football League clubs, there’s no doubt the system has become crucial to how they operate.

Federico Macheda

Federico Macheda

This season has seen Rovers sign no fewer than ten players on loan.

And by our calcuations, a total of 50 loan deals have been processed over the last six seasons.

READ MORE: Darren Ferguson unworried about plans to scrap emergency loans

Among those, some key players like Billy Sharp, Dean Furman and Andy Butler arrived on temporary deals before joining the club permanently.

Frederic Piquionne

Frederic Piquionne

While Ryan Mason and Jordon Mutch have gone onto forge careers in the Premier League.

Here’s a quick look at Rovers’ recent loanees, and an update on where they are now.


Oscar Gobern (QPR)

Andy Butler

Andy Butler

Keshi Anderson (Crystal Palace)

James Horsfield (Manchester City)

Felipe Mattioni (Everton)

Chris Neal (Rovers, on loan from Port Vale)

Sam Johnstone

Sam Johnstone

Craig Alcock (Rovers)

Eddy Lecygne (Rovers, on loan from Stoke)

Conor Grant (Rovers, on loan from Everton)

Cameron Stewart (Rovers, on loan from Ipswich)

Lynden Gooch (Rovers, on loan from Sunderland)


Sam Johnstone (Preston North End, on loan from Manchester United)

Uche Ikpeazu (Blackpool, on loan from Watford)

Jed Steer (Huddersfield Town, on loan from Aston Villa)

Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)

Jonson Clarke-Harris (Rotherham United)

Andy Butler (Rovers)


Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)

Bongali Khumalo (SuperSport United)

Jordan Bowery (Oxford United)

Federico Macheda (Cardiff City)

Lucas Neill (unattached)

Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)

Sam Johnstone (Preston North End, on loan from Manchester United)

Yun Suk-Young (Queens Park Rangers)

Reece Wabara (Wigan)


Iain Hume (SD Ponferradina)

Emile Sinclair (Guiseley, on loan from York City)

John Lundstram (Oxford United)

Cameron Howieson (St Mirren)

Dean Furman (SuperSport United)


Ryan Mason (Tottenham)

Reece Brown (Bury)

Milan Lalkovič (Walsall)

Jon Parkin (Forest Green Rovers)

Herita Ilunga (US Créteil-Lusitanos)

Chris Kirkland (Preston North End)

Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Habib Beye (Retired)

Hérold Goulon (FC Viitorul)

Marc-Antoine Fortuné (Coventry City)

David Button (Brentford)

Damien Plessis (Marítimo)

Fabien Robert (Swindon Town)

Frederic Piquionne (Mumbai City FC)


Jordon Mutch (Crystal Palace)

Jason Shackell (Derby County)

Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)

Simon Gillett (Yeovil Town)

Elliott Ward (Blackburn Rovers)

Jay Emmanuel-Thomas (QPR)