Doncaster Rovers: Short contracts suit Dickov

Gabriel Tamas.
Gabriel Tamas.

Paul Dickov is happy to keep things short when it comes to the length of contracts.

No fewer than 16 players are out of contract at Doncaster this summer, including long serving winger James Coppinger, midfielder Paul Keegan and goalkeeper Ross Turnbull.

Such a large number of expiries has become the norm in recent seasons, with Rovers reluctant to hand out long term deals.

Only Mark Duffy and Harry Forrester, in the current squad, are contracted until 2016.

Rovers have become more inclined to deal in short term contracts, and the ploy was heralded as one of the driving forces behind the club’s instant return to the Championship - because the core of that promotion-winning group were not just playing for promotion, but also their own individual futures.

And Dickov says that mentality, of players having to prove themselves, will remain very much at the forefront of his thinking when it comes to offering players contracts at Rovers.

Dickov: “It’s not just the club’s view to give short term contracts out.

“There’s a part of me as well that thinks when you bring players in, as much as they might be good players or experienced players, they’ve got to come in here and prove a point.

“How many times do you see clubs give long term contracts out, and as soon as that long term contract has been signed they don’t perform?

“It happens a lot.

“So for us it’s not just about recruiting players who have the quality to help us at this level.

“We want players here who are hungry and have a point to prove as well.”

Dickov has already revealed that contract renewal negotiations are on hold until Doncaster know in which division they will be playing next season.

Coppinger, Keegan, Turnbull and David Cotterill are the most high profile players out of contract this summer.

Short term deals for Abdoulaye Meite and Gabriel Tamas expire in May, while Jamie McCombe and Billy Paynter’s contracts are also up.

The future of youngsters Jonathan Maxted, Liam Wakefield, Josh Meade, Harry Middleton, Alex Peterson, Chris Whincop, Evan Finnegan and Jordan Binns will also be up for review.