Doncaster Alliance League: Ryecroft Rovers throw down gauntlet to Cup rivals

Doncaster Rovers Senior League
Doncaster Rovers Senior League

Premier Division leaders Ryecroft Rovers posted the highest score in the Doncaster Sunday Alliance League this season when romping to an 18-2 win at Championship Three Horseshoes in their delayed Ernie Prince Memorial Cup first round tie.

Second Division Durban caused a major shock when winning 2-1 away at Premier Division Wheatley Hotel.

Willaspoons, for whom Sam Appleby and Zak Wooldridge both bagged a brace, also upset the odds when beating FC Glasshouse 4-2.

Canal Tavern took over top spot in the Premier Division following their 3-1 win over Stainforth (Leigh Emmerson).

Rum Rooms and Tut 'n' Shive (Sean Kenny 2, Karl Dixon, Chris Colley, David Stewart) battled out a 5-5 draw.

The FC Rossington Welfare-Rossington United derby ended honours even at 1-1.

Fourth-placed Dunscroft lost 3-2 at Carpenters Arms for whom Dan White (2) and Michael Wibberley netted.

Championship leaders Bessacarr (James Sharp) lost their unbeaten record in a 6-1 defeat at Leopard. Sam Corner notched a hat trick for the winners with Matt Finders hitting a double.

The Railway drew level with Bessacarr after picking up a point from a 3-3 draw against Rosehill Press (Arran Jakobson 2, Karl Rollinson).

Don Porteous led the way with a four-goal haul as third-placed Scawthorpe coasted to an 8-0 win at Balby Athletic. Dean Daffin weighed in with a hat trick and there was also a goal for Anthony Sykes.

Fourth-placed Rakkam beat lowly Finningley Athletic 7-0. Richard Dunn claimed four of the goals with Marcus Fox, Lee Isaac and Mark Carter chipping in.

Team 23 beat Palfreys Lodge by the odd goal in three with Foresters battling out a 3-3 draw with Wheatsheaf (Doncaster), whose goals were shared by Liam Hughes, Declan Archibald and Adrian Rafiel.

Previously unbeaten Real Bridge retained top spot in Division One despite losing their unbeaten record when going down 4-2 at mid-table Sporting Wadworth.

Gareth Dawson and Stu Gibbard shared the Bridge consolation goals with Lee Carter, Grant Hill, Tristan Taylor and Harry Hotham replying for the winners.

Wheatley Club cemented third spot with a 4-2 win over Carcroft Village.

Armthorpe Village lost ground after losing 5-4 at Bentley West End S&S and Auckley (Louis Pickard, Dan Lovell, Andy Webb, Oliver Langton) moved level on points with them after beating Brookside (Adam Raistrick, Jimmy Falkiner) 4-2.

Karl Blanchard scored both goals as FC Cumberland picked up their fourth win with a 2-1 victory over White Hart (Askern).

A Scott Sykes double and single strikes by Craig Dallas and Joe Murray helped FC Ivanhoe beat AFC Schoolboy 5-1.

AFC Balby had to settle for consolation goals by Jake Lambert and Greg Daniels when going down to a 7-2 home defeat against unbeaten Division Two leaders Windmill.

New Cantley climbed above Balby into second place with a 4-2 win at lowly Windmill Wanderers. David Fairweather (2), James Critchlow and Tom Bluemink shared the goals.

Stag Inn Rovers held on to fourth spot after drawing 2-2 at Balby Rovers. Fifth-placed The Salutation beat Pit Club 2-0.

South Kirkby RAF beat Eden Arms (Scott Dixon, Ash Barton) by the odd goal in five. All Saints lost 2-1 at Woodfield.