Doncaster Alliance: Holders Sprotbrough made to sweat in cup

Balby Rovers, of Doncaster Sunday Alliance Football League pictured last year, were beaten 6-3 by FC Wadworth. Picture: Andrew Roe
Balby Rovers, of Doncaster Sunday Alliance Football League pictured last year, were beaten 6-3 by FC Wadworth. Picture: Andrew Roe

Doncaster Sunday Alliance KO Cup holders Sprotbrough booked their place in the third round of this season’s competition with a 2-0 win at Walton Wonderers.

But the high-flying Premier Division side, for whom Matthew Brown and Richard Smith netted, needed extra-time to see off the battling Division One side.

Defending Premier Division champions Athletico Tap Maker beat Division Three visitors Scawthorpe 4-1 thanks to a brace by Robert Allan and goals by Brett Lucas and Daniel Reed.

Premier Division title challengers Graceholme were flying high following their 9-1 win at Championship side Finningley Athletic.

Craig Dyson (2), Ashley Cantrill, Darren Bradley, James Gatt, Peter Boulton, Daniel Hooper, Michael Edgecolme and Sorik Malcolm shared the goals.

Adam & Steve upset the odds with a 3-0 win at Arksey Victoria; Michael Smith (2), Andy Walkden doing the damage.

Championship outfit Armthorpe Albion posted a surprisingly emphatic 11-2 win over Division One visitors, New Mallard. Connor Cygan and Zak King netted for Mallard.

Hatfield Town (Elliott Teal, Brendon Jeffrey, Adam Daniels) beat higher placed Armthorpe Village by the odd goal in five.

Tank charged to a 7-0 win at Balby Plough. James Falkiner led the way with a double with John Blunt, John Woldridge, Andy Turton, Adrian Howe and Adam Raistrick also chipping in.

Goals by Gareth Collinson and Ant Corner saw Premier Division Bullcroft S&P beat Championship outfit Wheatsheaf 2-0.

Third Division Eden Arms (own goal) crashed to a 7-1 defeat at Championship hosts Carpenters Arms, well served by hat-trick hero David Cornwthwaite, Matthew Kilvington (2), Ryan Dean and James Mitchell.

Cask Corner, for whom Matthew Findley and Gary Jones both notched a hat trick, also had their shooting boots on when dishing out an 8-1 beating to Balby CSV. Marc Cartlidge and Aiden Dooley also netted.

Premier Division Toll Bar needed penalties to see off Auckley after it ended 4-4.

Kieron Sanderson starred with a four-goal haul as FC Dunscroft romped to a 10-1 win over Cumberland in their all-Division Two clash.

Craig Wigglesworth doubled up with Ryan Hall, Luke Brownbridge, Tim Mellor and Liam Nicholas also getting in on the act. Carl Blanchard was the Cumberland marksman.

Darrell Creed scored the only goal of the game as Eden Grove put out fellow top-flight side Bentley Top Club.

Championship side FC Glasshouse routed Third Division Ivanhoe, 10-0.

FC Wadworth beat visiting Balby Rovers 6-3. James Nunns (2), Nicholas Kane, David Carlin, Kieran Shields and Paul Hurst shared out their goals with Andy Carroll bagging a brace for Rovers.

Balby Academy of Sport scored five without reply at Premier Division Inter Stella.

Mark Cooper scored three of the Championship club’s goals with Kieran Ferguson and Kris Waterhouse also weighing in.

Warren House Warriors had to settle for consolation goals by Simon Squire (2) and Matthew Banks when going down 6-3 at Leger Lions.

Leopard beat Windmill Inn 2-0.

A Chris Colley hat trick helped Championship strugglers Park Social, for whom Luke Rose also scored, beat Division Two basement club Regent Hotel (Simon Manterfield, Aiden Ford, Jordan McCloy) by the odd goal in seven.

Daniel Wojciechowski claimed four of the goals as Premier Division Rhino’s beat Division Three derby rivals Rhino Warriors 7-0. Wayne Lindley, Dean Daffin and Daniel Porteous also hit the target.

Ryan Ambler’s hat trick laid the foundations for Rosehill Press’s 4-2 win over Rossington Legion. Peter Stannard completed their tally with Callum Cross and Nathan Blenkinsop replying for the visitors.

Leaders Rossington United fared better, beating Division One rivals Willaspoons (Daniel Smith 2) 4-2. Karl Lang, Scott Henderson, Dean Turton and Adam Fraser shared the goals.

Second Division Ryecroft Rovers (Craig Patterson 2, Ryan Laverick) handed out a 3-0 beating to Division Three rivals Schoolboy Norton.

Goals by Jamie Hindson and Anthony Ross secured Premier Division Stainforth a 2-1 win over Division One visitors The Vault.

Second-placed The Askern (Jake Holdsworth, James Andrews, Kyle Embury, Scott Dixon, Craig Brodie, Joel Spillane) beat four-placed Millgate Manhattan (David Flowitt) 6-1 in their all-Division One clash.

Crown Hotel shunted Askern Railway aside to claim a 6-2 win.

Three Horseshoes galloped to a 4-0 win over Bentley West End. Windmill beat lower division Maltings 5-3.