Sprotbrough end the season in style

Concentration: Bullcroft batsman Gary Lord at the crease in the home match against Bentley.          Picture: Steve taylor
Concentration: Bullcroft batsman Gary Lord at the crease in the home match against Bentley. Picture: Steve taylor

SPROTBROUGH finished fourth in Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two after collecting maximum points from their last five matches.

Tom Pepper (50) and Tim Braithwaite (33) guided Sprotbrough to a seven-wicket victory against bottom team Darton who were restricted to 142 by Dave Carr (3-42 from 11 overs) and Gordon Laidlaw (2-39 from 14).

A battling 44 by Josh Gillies was in vain for Askern who were toppled for 110 by Stainborough.

In reply, Josh Abson’s unbeaten 61 steered Stainborough to a nine-wicket win that clinched them the Division Two championship.

Stainborough finished three points clear of runners up Monk Bretton who beat Hatfield Town by eight wickets. Wayne Silvester (61) top-scored as Hatfield were bowled out for 149.

Fishlake ended their Division One campaign on a high note with their fourth straight win. Mark Davies (74), Paul Roper (50) and Graham Ackroyd (46) led Fishlake to 255-8 against relegated Hooton Pagnell who were kept at 224 by Paul Moores (6-52) and Charlie Metcalfe (3-30).

Don Whitehurst (112) and Steve Hall (4-32) were Thurnscoe Institute’s match-winners as they sealed promotion in Division Three by narrowly beating bottom side Brodsworth Main.

Brodsworth’s seven-run defeat was tough on David Merryweather (4-30) and Michael Rogerson (34). Third-placed Sykehouse beat Frickley Colliery A. James Davies (65), Andy Edwards (57no) and Richard Munro (4-32) were Sykehouse’s top performers in a 47-run win.

Thorne Colliery recorded their first victory for two months by crushing Hensall, who were routed for 90 by Terry Bissell (4-18), James Stewart (2-23) and Mark Walton (2-24). Chris Head (37no), Chris Dyer (24) and Ian Lloyd (23) led the way as Thorne knocked off the runs.

Fishlake A and Bullcroft Main finished as the bottom two in Division Four after losing to fellow strugglers South Kirkby A and Bentley Colliery respectively.

Chasing Kirkby’s 201-8, Fishlake fell narrowly short on 185-9.

Bullcroft were skittled for 104 in a six-wicket defeat against Bentley.

Peglers pipped Ferrybridge PS for the Division Five championship because they had more 10-point victories than their rivals. Last year’s Division Six champions beat Featherstone A by six wickets to finish level on points with Ferrybridge.

Thurnscoe A, who won promotion in Division Six, beat Hooton Pagnell A by 20 runs but Hatfield A lost by 162 runs to champions Thorpe Audlin.

Brodsworth Main A tied with Division Seven rivals Hemsworth A. Fenwick trounced Division Eight rivals Bentley Colliery A by 216 runs. Sykehouse A beat Peglers A by three wickets.