South Yorkshire League: Warmsworth’s winning start | Sprotbrough stun Upper Haugh B

editorial image

Warmsworth quickly acclimatised to life at a higher level with a 55-run win at Oughtibridge.

Skipper Chris Hadley was last season’s Division Three champions’ instigator in chief, hitting a brilliant 132.

He was supported by Daniel Oades with 44 and Adam Saynor with 30 as Warmsworth amassed 287-6 at the Memorial Ground.

Oughtibridge were 53-4 at one stage and then looked out of it when the ninth wicket fell at 162.

The final pair threw caution to the wind and blasted their way to an unbeaten stand of 70 to provide Oughtibridge with a welcome bonus point.

Joe Preece was 53 not out and Ashley Statham unbeaten on 32 as the home side closed on 232-9.

Elsehwere in Division Two, Doncaster Town B lost by 62 runs at home to relegated Bradfield.

Town invited the visitors to defend first but they began to regret their decision as skipper Tom Coulson (41) and Paul Garnett (51) took the score to 107-1.

The Bradfield innings closed at 181-6 with Kirk Bennett claiming 3-22 for Doncaster.

Although the first wicket added 47, Doncaster could only muster 119 all out in reply. Jonathan Cowan top scored with 21 not out.

South African Hennie Swart did the damage with 6-19 for Bradfield.

Maltby got the better of Sheffield United by one wicket in a clash between two newly promoted sides.

United batted first and raised a score of 135 all out. Liam Woodward took 5-40.

In reply, Maltby’s openers Tom Groom (47) and Paul Jevons (35) scored 82 runs between them to make Maltby’s task look easy.

However, the intorduction of David Marsden interrupted Maltby’s progress as he removed both openers and made inroads into their innings.

Thanks to 22 not out from Paul Hicks, Maltby scraped home with the final pair at the wicket.

Marsden bowled exceptionally well, claiming 7-34.

n Sprotbrough made a stunning start to life in the South Yorkshire League as they amassed 321-6 and then bowled Upper Haugh B out for 50.

Tom Kaye (71), Adam Kaye (86) and Michael Threapleton (47no) starred with the bat before Tim Braithwaite took 7-27.