South Yorkshire League: Doncaster Town thrash Thorncliffe to go clear at the top of Championship

Luke Townsend
Luke Townsend

Championship leaders Doncaster Town made a significant statement by beating Thorncliffe by ten wickets at Town Field.

The visitors batted first but could only muster 123 all out as Town skipper Luke Townsend exercised control and claimed 4-28.

Openers Duncan Heath (65no) and Joe Gallagher (52no) then completed the job with minimum fuss in 26.4 overs.

Doncaster, aiming to bounce back to the Yorkshire League from the South Yorkshire League at the first attempt, now have a 12-point cushion to third place.

Third-placed Wath closed the gap on Whiston PC, who occupy the second automatic promotion place, to three points with a 151-run victory at Houghton Main.

Skipper Rob Barlow made a superb 131, achieved in 129 balls and with a boundary count of 20 fours and a six, as Wath totalled 271-5.

Damian De Vos provided good support with 57 and Sam Whitlam added 35 not out.

In reply Main could only reach 117 all out. David Mace did some damage with 4-40.

Conisbrough’s recent good run came to an end at Darfield where they lost by seven wickets.

The visitors batted first and lost their first three batsmen with just 13 runs between them.

Skipper Gary Strephan attempted to revive matters with 44 but there was little else to offer and Conisbrough were all out for 152.

Syed Hassan took 3-29 and Samuel Thomas closed the innings off with 4-20.

Alex Morris, with 63 not out, and Sam Woodcock, with 44, ensured that Darfield’s run chase reached a successful conclusion with 20 overs to spare.