South Yorkshire League: Conisbrough crowned Division One champions

Conisbrough CC - SYL Division One champions
Conisbrough CC - SYL Division One champions

Conisbrough were singing in the rain after the abandonment of their penultimate fixture at Houghton Main saw them crowned Division One champions.

Having already sealed promotion to the Premier Division a week earlier, Conisbrough travelled to second placed Main knowing that defeat would throw the title race wide open ahead of the final weekend of the season.

However, despite the home’s side best attempts to defy the rain, the wet conditions eventually forced the stumps to be pulled up on the game and also the hosts’ championship ambitions.

In a game reduced to 33 overs a side, Houghton reached 117-4 from 21 overs when the umpires called a halt to proceedings. Spinner Oliver Jackson had claimed 3-15 from his four overs.

Main will join Conisbrough in next season’s Premier Division having already done enough to secure second spot.

Conisbrough bring the curtain down on their successful season at home to Wath B on Saturday.

n Warmsworth are locked in a thrilling five-way final day battle for promotion from Division Two.

Rotherham Phoenix, Whitley Hall B, Aston Hall B, Warmsworth and Elsecar B are all separated by just two points - and fighting it out for two remaining automatic promotion slots.

Warmsworth host second-placed Rotherham Phoenix on Saturday, while Aston Hall and Elsecar also face each other.

n The destiny of the Premier Division title will also be decided on Saturday.

Leaders Treeton go into the final round of fixtures three points clear of Whitley Hall and Elsecar.

Treeton host Darfield, while Whitley Hall are at home to Wickersley OV and Elsecar host Coal Aston.

n Sprotbrough B will be promoted from Division Five if they better Worsbridge Bridge B’s result on Saturday.