South Yorkshire League: Arosh Janoda steals the show in Conisbrough’s derby win

Arosh Janoda was in sensational form with bat and ball for Conisbrough in their win over Sprotbrough.
Arosh Janoda was in sensational form with bat and ball for Conisbrough in their win over Sprotbrough.

Overseas star Arosh Janoda smashed a brilliant century and then claimed a five-wicket haul to inspire Conisbrough to a 136-run over Sprotbrough.

The Sri-Lankan all-rounder struck 126 off just 91 balls, including 11 fours and eight sixes, to lift the home side to 307 all out.

Joe Farmer also opened up with 57 for the Championship high flyers.

Sprotbrough lost their openers with just eight runs between them.

Charlie Kaye scored 30, Eknoor Singh added 39 and Jonathan Scaife top scored with 42 in their total of 171 all out.

Janoda rubberstamped his man of the match status by claiming 5-29 with the ball.

The victory leaves third-placed Consibrough right on the coattails of the top two, while Sportbrough are in sixth position.

League leaders Tickhill gained revenge for their opening day defeat at Houghton Main - their only loss in the league so far this season - by beating them by 27 runs at Alderson Drive.

The home side batted first and Lawrence Browes opened with nine fours in his 55, Ashley Fiddler scored 50 and Ahmed Jamal made 39 in their total of 214-8.

Imran Khan took 3-54 and Michael Bates 3-49.

In reply Ian Simon opened with 31 and Callum Honeyman was 53 not out in Houghton’s total of 187-7.

Callum Stuart and Tom Barnett each took two wickets for the hosts.

Wath claimed an important win at lowly Collegiate B to give themselves some breathing space in the battle to avoid the drop.

The visitors batted first at Abbeydale and raised a total of 172 all out.

Skipper Rob Barlow opened with 40 and James Barnard added 56. Ben Fielding took 3-50.

In reply Collegiate could only muster 127 all out.

Stumper John Udell contributed 36, while Wath’s Stephen Johnson took 3-25 and Harvey Wootton claimed 3-12.

Warmsworth beat Division One leaders Aston Hall B thanks to a sensational knock of 151 from Rhys Mann.

Skipper Andrew Haywood added 39 and Liam Marshall made 32 in the visitors’ imposing total of 320-8.

Aston Hall’s reply was commendable but their innings closed on 288-7.