Cricket: Tickhill win President’s Cup

editorial image

Tickhill took it to the Max to beat Mexborough and lift the President’s Cup at Conisbrough on Sunday.

Australian Max Tomkinson hit a swashbuckling 133 to lead the Alderson Drive club to victory.

Chris Doyle also compiled an excellent 84, combining with Tomkinson in a unbeaten 200-run partnership.

Mexborough, having been put into bat, were indebted to a centurion of their own as Zac Gayfer made an excellent 121.

Late order men Neil Spruce (30) and Rizwan Ali (32) also scored quick runs to see Mexborough’s innings close on 234 after 37 overs.

Josh Court had Tickhill’s best figures with 3-33 off nine overs and Tomkinson returned 3-59.

Tickhill started their reply disastrously and lost three wickets to seamer Rizwan Ali with only 38 runs on the board.

But then Doyle (84) joined Tomkinson (133) and the pair’s brilliant partnership saw Tickhill home.

Unsurprisingly, Tomkinson won the man of the match award.