Cricket: Doncaster Town retain All Saints Indoor League title

editorial image

Doncaster Town retained their All Saints Indoor Cricket League crown after beating Bawtry in a last ball thriller.

Bawtry posted a well-constructed total, mainly due to Grant Fleming’s 29. Excellent support came from Richard Miller (18) and Anthony Cator (16).

Town’s consistent opening pair once again set the tone for their innings.

James Dobson (38) and Ryan Capstick(28) got the run chase off to an aggressive start before a mid-innings collapse paved the way for an entertaining climax.

Curtis Free (27) blasted his side to within touching distance of victory but the match was still in the balance in the final over as Doncaster still needed eight more runs.

The contest went to the final delivery and, requiring three runs to win, Dobson hit a four to seal victory and Town’s third successive league title.

Maltby MW hit the highest total of the season against Rossington, recording a massive 147 from their allotted overs.

Paul Jeavons (37) top scored with Liam Parker (27), Phillip Fletcher (26) and Liam Woodward (22) also impressing.

From the outset Rossington were up against it and failed to keep up with the run rate.

Jamie Kelly (25) was the only batsman to show any resistance as they fell woefully short of their target.

Woodward crowned an excellent all round performance by claiming two wickets.