Cricket: Alliance League could merge with South Yorkshire League

editorial image

The South Yorkshire Cricket Alliance League is considering merging with South Yorkshire Senior Cricket League.

Several Doncaster clubs stand to be affected by the proposal, including Adwick-le-Street, Eden Grove/Parklands, Brodsworth Main and Hatfield Main.

Plans to bring the two leagues together under one umbrella will be put before Alliance League clubs at an EGM in Wickersley next Wednesday night.

Members of the Alliance League’s committee have held discussions with the South Yorkshire League and are all in favour of the merger.

And clubs have been told they must attend next week’s meeting at Wickersley Social Club (8pm start) where a question and answer session will take place.

The South Yorkshire Cricket Alliance was established in 2010 following a merger of the Doncaster and District Cricket League, established in 1912, and the Sheffield Cricket League, established in 1937.

Last season the league was made up of three divisions, 25 clubs and 36 teams.

The merger could go ahead in time for the 2015 season.

The South Yorkshire Senior Cricket League has also been involved in talks about a proposed revamp of the ECB Yorkshire Premier League - and have backed plans to form new North and South Premier Leagues.

If those plans come to fruition, it is likely that the five local Yorkshire League clubs - Barnsley, Doncaster Town, Rotherham Town and the Sheffield clubs, Collegiate and United - would join with the top seven South Yorkshire League clubs in a new 12-team top division at the tip of a potentially expanded SYSCL umbrella.