2014 Doncaster Sports Awards: Winners announced

Clive Griffiths
Clive Griffiths

Doncaster Knights stole the show at this year’s Doncaster Sports Awards.

The National One champions were named Professional Team of the Year at Wednesday night’s sixth annual awards night, while Clive Griffiths scooped the Professional Coach of the Year accolade.

Winger Tyson Lewis’s fastest try in the history of rugby union - which he scored after 7.27 seconds against Blackheath and was recently confirmed as a world record - won Outstanding Sporting Moment.

Jamie McDonnell was named as Doncaster Free Press’s Sports Superstar after becoming the town’s first ever boxing world champion in May last year.

The 28-year-old will fight for the WBA World belt on the Froch Groves undercard at Wembley later this month after since being stripped of the IBF title due to a technicality.

Doncaster Belles’ rising star Ashleigh Mills won Junior Sports Personality of the Year, while Winter Paralympics skier Mick Brennan collected the Disabled Sports Personality award.

Sports Superstar: Jamie McDonnell

Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Ashleigh Mills

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Mick Brennan

Lifetime Achievement Award: Eddie Beaglehole

South Yorkshire Times Sports Superstar: Luke Cutts

Epworth Bells Sports Superstar: Sammie Fritchley

Coach/Manager of the Year (Amateur): Bob Martin

Coach/Manager of the Year (Professional): Clive Griffiths

Unsung Hero: John Hargate

Hope for the Future: Sophie Hawkins

Amateur Team of the Year: Moorends Hornets and Stingers Under 14s

Amateur Sports Club of the Year: Wheatley Hills Tennis Club

Professional Team of the Year: Doncaster Knights

Outstanding Sporting Moment: Tyson Lewis - the fastest try in the history of rugby union