These are the countries that have been removed from the coronavirus safe travel list

With coronavirus numbers spiking in different countries around the world and sparking fears of a second wave, some countries have been taken off the list of those safe to travel to from the UK without quarantining.

By Lloyd Bent
Thursday, 20th August 2020, 7:25 pm

Croatia, Austria and Trinidad and Tobago have all been removed from the list.

The changes, which were announced by Transport Secretary Grant Schapps this evening (August 20) will come into force on Saturday, August 22 at 4am, meaning any UK citizens in these countries have approximately 36 hours to return.

Anybody who is not back in the UK from those countries by 4am on Saturday will have to quarantine for two weeks on their return.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Passengers wearing a face mask or covering due to the COVID-19 pandemic (Photo by Anthony Devlin / AFP) (Photo by ANTHONY DEVLIN/AFP via Getty Images)

Switzerland has also been removed from Scotland’s safe travel list. It remains on the safe lists for the rest of the UK.

Government officials say the changes made to the lists are based on “significant change in both the level and pace of confirmed cases”.

Meanwhile, Portugal has been added to the safe list. Any UK travellers returning from Portugal will not need to quarantine.

Mr Shapps tweeted on this evening: “Data also shows we can now add Portugal to those countries included in Travel Corridors.”

“As with all air bridge countries, please be aware that things can change quickly.

“Only travel if you are content to unexpectedly 14-day quarantine if required (I speak from experience!)”

The FCO advises against “all but essential travel” to the countries on the quarantine list.