Stars of the sixth form honoured in Sheffield

Over 60 sixth form students celebrated outstanding achievements over the past year, at a Sheffield awards evening.

Monday, 25th April 2016, 10:00 am
Updated Monday, 25th April 2016, 10:03 am
Dayne Sampson of Longley Park Sixth Form College receives his award

Presentations at The Longley Park Sixth Form College’s Annual Awards evening were made by guests of honour Beverley Webster OBE and Chair of Governors Cath Orange.

Musical performances came from students Lilly Watson and Curtis Girlow, with Lilly singing the Journey classic ‘Don’t Stop Believing’, and piano renditions of Ed Sheeran’s hit songs from Curtis to close the ceremony.

During the evening College Special Awards were presented to the following students:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Certa Best Progress Award to Dayne Sampson for 100 per cent attendance, an excellent attitude towards studies and willingness to help others.

The Foxhill Forum Employability Award to Thomas Webster-Dunkerley for gaining a part time paid role after displaying positive attitude at Foxhill Forum during a work placement, along with professionalism, reliability and work ethic.

The Chaucer School Childcare Award to Shantel Eadie for excellent placement work, being recognised as ‘the most organised and effective Level two practitioner the nursery has ever had’.

The Community Award to Kiara Trojanska for voluntary work with Amos Youth Trust.

The David Blunkett Citizenship Award to Chloe Ludlam and Chloe Suter, both nominated for their honesty in helping a member of the Firth Park community.

The Ecclesfield School Creative Arts Award to Bushra Tanwir for striving to achieve the best, and working independently. Bushra will study Fashion Design at Sheffield Hallam University in September.

The ESOL Award to Hamda Yusuf for her focus on work, for helping other students and commitment to developing her English in order to achieve long-term goals.

The Fir Vale School Award for Business and Enterprise to Nazia Akhtar who has made excellent progress on her Business course with an outstanding attendance and punctuality record. She consistently achieves Distinction grades.

The Firth Park Academy Performing Arts Award to Daniel Parry, an exceptional student who attended every extra curricula activity in Performing Arts.

The Hinde House School Award for Science to Jack Butterly, for making outstanding progress. He has overcome massive barriers to his learning and shown dedication and enthusiasm to his studies.

The Longley Park Sixth Form College Maths Award to Daniel Marshall for challenging himself to go beyond the scope of A Level Mathematics and commitment to study.

The Nottingham Trent University Academic Excellence Award to Megan Stagles for outstanding achievement and effort in History.

The Parkwood Academy Sports and PE Award to Connor Smith for good attitude towards studies and involvement in the college football team.

The Principal’s Award for Media Production to Bright Ntinugwa for consistent production of highly imaginative work and strong gift for cinematography. Bright has produced promotional videos for real clients.

The Recognition Award for Student Representation to Ryan Pickorer, a student ambassador and positive role model to other students who has really challenged himself.

The Sheffield Hallam University Academic Achievement Award to Yahye Ali who began a Level One programme four years ago and is now on target for Distinctions and Merits in his Level 3 BTEC Extended Diploma in Applied Science. He received four offers for Aerospace Engineering next year.

The Sheffield Wednesday Volunteer of the Year Award to Thomas Butler for the volunteering he does in the community with Sheffield Wednesday FC.

The Skills for Life Maths Award to Teigan Lee, an exceptionally hard-working student who shows outstanding commitment to study an dwho is supportive of other students..

The Skills for Life English Award to Angelipa Kargbo for dedication and commitment to improving her English Skills.

The Skills for Life College Colours to Ella Oxley for great attitude and persistence in studies.

The Student Award to Jamie Hartle for being a loyal friend and for effort put into his media work.

The University of Huddersfield Health and Social Care Award to Anan Jalal Ismail for outstanding progress and overall contribution to Health and Social Care.

The University of Sheffield English Award to Mubeenah Waheed for positive attitude to studies.

The University of Sheffield Humanities Award to Emma Fisher for excellent progress throughout the year and a positive attitude to studies.

The Yewlands Academy Computing and Technology Award to Evgeniy Tonchev, an inspirational programmer with great talent and enthusiasm for creative software design.

Governors’ Award for Team of the Year to the AS Geography Students, Yusef Abdulqader, Molly Brunt, Paul Callaghan, Paige Heath , Anjaly Joseph and Sophia Spooner.

The Doug Liversidge Golden Apple Award is awarded each year for an outstanding contribution to the College by an individual or team of staff and was won by academic tutors Andy Hill, Becca Sherwin, Claire Naylor and Maggi Bird.

Winners of College Colours Awards were nominated by college teachers and handed to the following students: Noof Al-Jabali, Selina Kazam, Kawther Almedrase, Aisha Khanm Amira Arif, Reece Lingard, Temitayo Ayeni, Hannah Milnes, Devon Burrows, Klaudia Nurzynska, Rimsha Choudhry, Olaoluwa Oniyide, Erin Dyson, Farhia Saeed, Mohammad Esteghamatdar, Sina Sanaizadeh, Hannah Frost, Amy Sanderson, Danielle Graham, Angelica Santiago, Deborah Habtom, Liam Schembri McElhatton, Sundus Hersi, Alexandria Sprules, Ryan Hodgkinson, Hamza Waseem, Ameer Hussain, Lauren Watson.