South Yorkshire League: Tickhill close in on Premier League return

Tickhill brushed aside Conisbrough to take a giant step towards promotion back to the ECB Yorkshire South Premier League.

Thursday, 23rd August 2018, 10:00 am
Updated Thursday, 23rd August 2018, 10:00 am
Ben Sommerville is pictured bowling for Conisbrough as Tickhills Michael Jepps watches on. Photos: Marie Caley

The Alderson Drive club require ten points from their final three games to ensure they bounce straight back to the top flight.

The SYL Championship leaders batted first and their innings was centred around an excellent knock from Liam Johnson who made 95, including 12 fours and a six.

Laurence Browes bats for Tickhill.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Michael Jepps opened with 32 and skipper Jordan Lowe added 35 in quick time to see the total up to 248-6.

Conisbrough’s reply came unstuck at the hands of new ball pair Callum Stuart and Ahmed Jamal.

The duo bowled unchanged with Stuart collecting 6-45 - clean bowling all of his victims - and Jamal claiming 4-45.

Fourth-placed Conisbrough were all out for a meagre 95 and the defeat could prove to be a significant blow to their own promotion aspirations.

Sprotbrough are the only team to lower Elsecar’s colours at Armroyd Lane this season but Elsecar gained revenge with a seven wicket win at Melton Road to move into the second promotion position.

Spinners Paul Cummins (4-35) and Muhammed Ilyas (5-21) wreaked havoc as Sprotbrough collapsed to 84 all out.

Cummins then took up the chase with determination and saw Elsecar to a seven wicket win with 33 not out.

Wath inflicted a tenth defeat of the season upon Darfield and left the School Street members and supporters scratching their heads as to what has gone wrong with a team that was lying in a promotion position after the first seven games.

Darfield were invited to bat first and skipper Alex Morris scored 33 and Samuel Thomas made 30 in a below par total of 140 all out.

Wath skipper Rob Barlow bowled well to claim 4-22.

The visitors had little difficulty in achieving their target with eight wickets to spare.

Barlow scored 31 and Damian De Vos made 51.