South Yorkshire League: Mexborough relegated to Division Four

Mexborough were condemned to relegation from Division Three after losing to promotion hopefuls Doncaster Town B at Hampden Road.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 30th August 2018, 6:00 am

The home side were invited to defend first and could only raise 85 all out.

Jonathan Cowan caused havoc with 6-31.

In reply Doncaster needed just two wickets for their victory. Jack Woodiwiss scored 32 not out.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Tickhill B won by one run in an exciting game at Maltby.

Matthew Kilvington opened with 54 and Nick Page contributed 33 to Tickhill’s total of 160-7.

Peter Brewster claimed 3-24 and Tom Groom took 3-53.

Philip Fletcher was Maltby’s leading scorer, run out for 42.

In a dramatic climax Maltby closed on 159-9.

Jake Wildsmith claimed 4-39 and Nick Page took 3-43 to help Tickhill’s cause.

Sprotbrough B remain on course for promotion from Division Four following a 169-win over Oughtibridge.

Skipper Thomas Pepper (48), Dean Williamson (79) and Alex Rudkin (64) lifted the hosts to 272-5.

Oughtibridge collapsed to 103 all out in reply. Michael Threapleton claimed 3-33.

Warmsworth’s resurgence in Division One continued with a 93-run victory at promotion-chasing Hallam B.

Calvin Defty (70) and Josh Matthews (77) added 120 runs for the fourth wicket to enable a final total of 228-8.

Hallam crumbled to 135 all out in reply. Jack Rogers claimed the first four wickets to fall for a reward of 4-27 and Matthews completed the demolition with 4-36.