Sean O'Driscoll named greatest Doncaster Rovers boss of 2000s

Sean O'Driscoll has been voted the greatest Doncaster Rovers manager of recent times in an online poll.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 20th June 2016, 12:34 pm
Updated Monday, 20th June 2016, 1:38 pm
Sean O Driscoll - the club's greatest manager of the 2000s.
Sean O Driscoll - the club's greatest manager of the 2000s.

The popular boss, 58, easily claimed top spot in our vote to find the club's best manager of the 2000s as we bid to determine Rovers' greatest manager of all-time in a series of polls.

At the helm from 2006-2011, O'Driscoll guided Rovers to the Johnstone Paints Trophy at Cardiff and the League One play off final win over Leeds United at Wembley and established them as a Championship club before his dismissal.

Since then, he has taken charge at Crawley Town, Nottingham Forest, Bristol City and Walsall and has also enjoyed spells as assistant manager at Liverpool and was in charge of England U19s.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

O'Driscoll polled 153 votes - putting him well clear of second-placed Mark Atkins, who only took charge for five games alongside Dave Penney after Ian Snodin was sacked at the end of the 1999-2000 campaign - although it is understood Atkins' family may have swayed his position in the standings with a social media push encouraging people to vote!

That drive put him ahead of Dave Penney who secured third spot in the vote.

He guided Rovers back to the Football League via the Conference play-off final at Stoke, led the club to the Division Three title the following season and oversaw a thrilling run to the League Cup quarter finals during his tenure.

The hunt is now on to find Rovers' greatest manager of the 1980s and 1990s and you can cast your vote on the likes of Billy Bremner, Sammy Chung, Kerry Dixon, Dave Mackay and many more HERE

We will then draw up a final shortlist allowing you to choose the club's greatest boss of all-time.


1. Sean O'Driscoll

2. Mark Atkins

3. Dave Penney

4. Dean Saunders

5. Darren Ferguson

6. Brian Flynn

7, Ian Snodin

8. Mickey Walker

9. Rob Jones

10. Paul Dickov

11. Steve Wignall