Leger Saturday - the finale of the fabulous festival

editorial image

Welcome to St Leger Day - the finale of the fabulous Festival - and the last classic of the flat racing season.

The British ‘Classics’ are five races known as the most prestigious in the horse racing calendar. The Doncaster highlight forms the final leg of the Classic British ‘Triple Crown’ - an accolade last claimed in 1970 by Nijinsky.

The race itself is named after a British Army Officer, Anthony St Leger, who lived at Park Hill in Doncaster, where he bred and raced horses. The first running took place on nearly Cantley Common, before transferring to its present home on Town Moor two years later.

The big race - this year boasting a record £600,000 prize-pot - consistently attracts some of the leading stables across the country. Former England footballer, and now prolific horse owner, Michael Owen brought his high-class and home-bred Brown Panther to Town Moor to contest the 2011 race, with his much-loved colt finishing an impressive second to the winner Masked Marvel.

Doncaster’s showpiece boasts a glittering roll of honour which is littered with some of the most acclaimed horses in history. A well-known racing saying states that “The fastest horse wins the Guineas; the luckiest the Derby - and the best horse wins the St Leger.”

Gates open at 11am and the raceing timetable is as follows:

2.05 - The At The Races Champagne Stakes (Group Two) - 7f

2.40 - The Ladbrokes Portland Handicap - 5f 140y

3.15 - The OLBG Park Stakes (Group Two) - 7f

3.50 - The Ladbrokes St Leger Stakes (British Champions Series) (Group One) - 1m 6f 132y

4.25 - The Napoleons Casinos And Restaurants Handicap Stakes - 1m4f

5.00 - The Agriargo UK Tractor Challenge Nursery Handicap Stakes - 1m

5.35 - The Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club Harwood International Stakes (Group One PA) - 1m

6.05 - The Harriet Powell Handicap Stakes - 1m

* See the results as they come in on this website, and our Leger Day video online later today.