Doncaster schools set to close as teachers strike

Share this article

Over 40 Doncaster schools will be hit by strike action by teachers tomorrow forcing parents to find childcare or take time off work.

The one-day walkout is a protest over changes to pay, pensions and the Government’s approach to education.

Around 30 schools and academies in the borough will be fully closed all day and a further 13 have confirmed partial closures.

The Government has condemned the strike action but teaching union leaders said school staff are angry at the way the profession is being treated by Education Secretary Michael Gove.

Nick Raine, National Union of Teachers regional officer for Yorkshire, said: “We are taking strike action because Michael Gove is refusing to meet or negotiate with us.

“Free schools and academies are causing chaos.

“We have got a record number of unqualified people in classrooms and education is being deregulated.

But the Government won’t consult with teachers, their representatives or anyone to do with education.”

A Department for Education spokesman said: “All strikes will do is disrupt parents’ lives, hold back children’s education and damage the reputation of the profession.”

Schools and academies that will be closed to pupils on Tuesday 1 October

Adwick Washington Infant School

Arksey Primary School

Armthorpe Tranmoor Primary School

Balby Carr Community Sports College

Bentley High Street Primary School

Carcroft Primary School

Edenthorpe Hall Primary School

Hatfield Sheep Dip Lane Primary School

Hayfield Lane Primary School

Heatherwood School

Hexthorpe Primary School

Hill Top Primary School

Hooton Pagnell All Saints Church of England Primary School

Intake Primary School

Kirkby Avenue Primary School

Mexborough Doncaster Road Junior School

Mexborough School

Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic Primary School

Owston Park Primary

Pennine View School

Rossington Tornedale Infant School

Scawsby Saltersgate Junior School

Sprotbrough Copley Junior School

Stone Hill School

The McAuley Catholic High School

The Woodlands Primary School

Thorne Brooke Primary School

Thorne King Edward Primary School

Thorne Moorends Marshland Primary School

Town Field Primary School

Travis St Lawrence Primary School

Wadworth Primary School

Warmsworth Primary School

Windhill Primary School

Armthorpe Academy

Castle Academy

Schools and academies that will be partially open

Askern Spa Junior School

Balby Central Primary School

Bawtry Mayflower Primary School

Bessacarr Primary School

Conisbrough Balby Street Primary School

Coppice Community School

Lakeside Primary School

Mexborough Pitt Street Infant School

Mexborough St John The Baptist CofE Primary School

Morley Place Junior School

Hungerhill School -open for year 11 only

Ridgewood School

The Hayfield School