Doncaster’s Louis Tomlinson and fellow One Direction band members release new single

One Direction surprised fans by releasing a new single overnight.

Friday, 31st July 2015, 3:50 pm

“Drag Me Down” is the first song that the fuor remaining boy band members — Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson — have released since Zayn Malik abruptly quit the pop quintet in March.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Julian Bunetta, John Ryan and Jamie Scott wrote the song; Ryan and Bunetta produced the track.

The single is available to buy on iTunes and to stream on Spotify.

The release of “Drag Me Down” comes days after Malik signed a solo contract.