Doncaster Rovers Senior League: Sutton Rovers are Premier Division champions

Sutton Rovers, for whom Mitchell Wain netted, are the 2017-18 Doncaster Rovers Senior League Premier Division champions.

Friday, 11th May 2018, 11:12 am
Updated Friday, 11th May 2018, 11:16 am

They drew 1-1 with second-placed Rum Rooms Legacy, who would have pipped them for the title had they beat them, on the last weekend of the season.

Rossington Main (Ben Clark, sub Daniel Green, own goal) held on to third place after beating Armthorpe Markham Main, for whom Ashley McNeil netted, 3-1.

South Elmsall United Services had to settle for fourth spot despite beating Kinsley Boys 2-0.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

AFC Bentley also signed off on a winning note when beating Yorkshire Main 1-0.

The Avenue club had lost 6-1 at home to Rum Rooms in midweek. Quinlan Simms bagged a brace for the visitors with Darren Bird, Daniel Turner and subs Luke Newton and Peter Walmsley also netting.

Rossington Main, who beat bottom club Adwick Park Rangers 7-2, also posted a big midweek win.

Ben Clark notched a hat trick for the winners, who led 2-1 at the break, with Andrew Culshaw and Marcel Chipamounga sharing the other four goals.

Bawtry Town beat Doncaster Deaf 5-2 in their Division One Champions Cup.