Doncaster Rovers: Grant McCann update on contract talks with key players

Grant McCann says he is ready to begin talks over new contracts for some of his Doncaster Rovers players.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 13th September 2018, 2:05 pm
Updated Thursday, 13th September 2018, 2:12 pm
Grant McCann
Grant McCann

The majority of Rovers' senior players will reach the end of their current deals next summer and McCann is keen to act quickly to ensure the club retains its prized assets.

'Soon, very soon,' he told the Free Press when asked about when contract talks will begin.

'The reason why I didn't do it when I first came in was because I didn't know very much about them.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

'I knew what they were like on the pitch but I didn't know about them.

'I bought myself a bit of time and they understood that.

'There will be meetings about people who we think are going to be big assets for the football club and who we think we need to get them signed on for another two or three years.

'Those discussions will be coming soon and hopefully we can take them further.'

Skipper Tommy Rowe, club captain Andy Butler and defensive trio Danny Andrew, Niall Mason and Joe Wright are just some of the players who will be out of contract at the end of the season.

Something McCann is keen to avoid is players becoming complacent if they are handed new, longer-term deals before the end of the season.

And he has pledged to ensure players earn their contracts before they are signed.

He said: 'You've got to be careful because I've seen it where you give someone a two or three year deal and performances suddenly slip.

'You've got to make sure they earn the deal.

'Nothing is given to you in life, you have to earn it. My mum and dad have always taught me that.

'Once we get into the situation where we think we should do it, we will do it.

'But discussions are happening at the minute.'


Danny Amos

Danny Andrew

Issam Ben Khemis

Alfie Beestin

Matty Blair

Andy Butler

Tyler Garratt

Ian Lawlor

Louis Jones

Mitchell Lund

Liam Mandeville

Marko Marosi

Niall Mason

Alfie May

Luke McCullough

Paul Taylor

Tommy Rowe

Joe Wright