Doncaster golf round-up: Town Moor, Thornhurst Park, Hickleton, Wheatley

Shaun Roberts (43 points) took the honours in Doncaster Town Moor's men's Captain's Day single stableford.

Wednesday, 27th July 2016, 5:00 am
Marie and Chris White won the Ashlea Mixed Trophy at Hickleton.

Dave Morley (39) was runner-up with Jim Pickersgill (38) bagging third spot.

Juliet Swinbourne (34 points) claimed victory in the women’s Captain’s Day single stableford.

Christine Wigglesworth (31) finished second with Kath Smith (27) notching third place.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ray Oakland (38 points) pipped runner-up Colin Woodhouse (37) to win Thornhurst Park’s stableford on Thursday.

Norman Collier (38 points) claimed victory in the club’s monthly stableford the following day.

Brian Kaye (36) edged Jeff Thornton into third place as a result of a better back-nine

Alison Wordsworth (gross 90 net 70) headed the field in the club’s monthly medal on Saturday.

Tony Wood (gross 83 net 71) was second with Keith Wordsworth (gross 90 net 72) claiming third spot.

Tony Wood (38 points) romped home in Sunday’s stableford competition.

Peter Hammond (31 points) pushed Alison Wordsworth into third place courtesy of a better back-nine.

Mother and son Marie and Chris White won Hickleton’s Ashlea Mixed Trophy – a half combined handicap stroke play competition for related pairings – with a net 71.

Terry and Trina Swain (net 74) were runners-up.

Alison Knowles, who recently won the club’s women’s championship for the 11th successive year, was an impressive winner of the Constance Davies Vase stableford with a score of 39 points.

Margaret Roberts (35 points) led the chasing pack with Anne Cooke (33) also featuring in the top three.

Lisa Rodgers (44 points) won the women’s stableford during the club’s men’s Captain’s Day on Sunday. Sheila Inglis (35) was runner-up with Trina Swain (35) in third place as a result of an inferior back-nine.

Jo Irwin and Dave Lawrence (69 points) won Wheatley’s President’s Cup.

Lindsey Griffiths (net 74) recorded a four-shot win in the women’s medal. Nicky Harrod (78) and Jenny Brennan were only separated by a better back-nine.