Doncaster Golf Club pair win national final

Doncaster Golf Club's Jane Butler and Carole Morris won the national final of the Australian Spoons competition at Frilford Heath Golf Club.

Sunday, 26th August 2018, 1:03 pm
Updated Sunday, 26th August 2018, 1:10 pm

Their winning score of 36 points saw them finish seven points clear of the field.

Butler had partnered Denise Andrew to a second place finish the previous day in the Yorkshire County Foursomes at Richmond.

Junior Declan Stoppard took the honours in the England Handicap Golfer of the Year competition at Frilford Heath.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Doncaster youngster, who shot a gross 73 (1 over gross) and a three under net, beat the runner-up thanks to a better back nine.

Alison Stratford won the club’s Con Davis Bogey competition. Geraldine Kaill and Maureen Appleyard completed the first three.

John Harbon (net 64) won the fifth of the club’s Hann Smith Medal competitions on Saturday.

Paul Liddle (net 67) won the Division One competition with Adrian Boyle (net 66) and Anthony Kerrigan (net 68) taking the honours in Division Two and Division Three respectively.

Tom Ciullo (75) recorded the best gross score of the day.

Karen O’Neill (gross 164) won Wheatley’s annual 36-hole ladies’ championship.

Tracey Aveling (152) carded the best net score with Rosina Friar (149) posting the best net score in the bronze division.

Mick Flynn (92-22-70) proved the man to beat in Thornhurst Park’s Sunday Medal.

Stuart Sanderson (97-24-73) finished runner-up to Flynn, who also recorded the lowest gross score.

Les Waldron (37 points) claimed victory in the club’s Saturday stableford.

Roy Bell (40 points) claimed victory in the club’s midweek stableford. Alan Hughes was four points adrift in second spot.

Keith Christian (89-18-71) romped home in the club’s monthly medal.

He had seven shots to spare over runner-up Les Waldron (96-18-78). Colin Woodhouse (103-21-82) was third.