Doncaster building projects up for top national awards

A range of construction and infrastructure projects in Doncaster have been shortlisted for prestigious awards.

Thursday, 16th June 2016, 5:00 am
Doncaster's National Rail College.

The Constructing Excellence Awards recognise the most innovative, well planned or important infrastructure projects across the UK, and Doncaster has received nominations in four categories in the Yorkshire and Humber classification.

The renovation of Doncaster’s historic Mansion House, a project that saw the landmark renewed to its former glory by contractors William Anelay, is among the nominees in the ‘Best Heritage Project’ category.

The ‘Integration and Collaborative Working’ category sees the National College for High Speed Rail project team in the nominees list, recognising the progress being made to deliver one of the town’s most important projects.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

A key development in Doncaster’s recent history, Great Yorkshire Way FARRRS link road, is nominated for the prestigious infrastructure ‘Project of the Year’ gong.

Rounding off the nominations is one for Doncaster Council itself, which could be named ‘Client of the Year’ following a nomination by Willmott Dixon Construction. This is award recognises the role that good clients have in delivering successful projects.

Councillor Joe Blackham, cabinet member for regeneration and transportation, said: “Over the last few years, we have worked extremely hard to deliver fantastic infrastructure projects across Doncaster, in order to unlock the potential in our borough and improve the town for residents.

“It is great recognition for the various project teams, as well as the contractors and partners who help deliver the projects, to see some of our great work nominated for these prestigious awards.

“While awards and recognition are not the driving force behind our projects, these nominations reflect the high standards and top-class construction we are committed to delivering.”

The awards will be announced on July 1.