Cricket round-up: Conisbrough, Mexborough maintain excellent starts

Matthew Barnes was on top form as Conisbrough maintained their big-hitting start to the South Yorkshire League Championship season with a comfortable win over Kexborough.

Wednesday, 4th May 2016, 2:00 pm
Conisbrough's Matthew Barnes

Barnes opened and battled throughout, smacking an unbeaten 106 to drive Conisbrough on after a rain delayed start.

He was supported by skipper Nathan Smith with 48 as they posted 235-9 from the innings.

The match did not finish until 8.15pm when Kexborough were forced to settle for a point on 188-7 with 46 overs gone.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Chief tormentor for Conisbrough was Scott Lowe who took 3-41.

Tickhill suffered their second consecutive defeat as they were swept aside at Whiston Parish Church.

They struggled from the off and stood at 67-5 at one stage before Nick Page led the recovery with a gallant 49 until Tickhill eventually fell for 137.

Tickhill failed to make any in-roads in attack and Whiston reached the target without loss.

Sprotbrough were brought back down to earth with a bump in Division One in defeat at Barnsley B.

Tim Braithwaite took 3-49 and Ben Lyons 4-75 as Barnsley posted 207-9 from their spell.

Sprotbrough simply could not handle the Barnsley attack and fell all out for 118, short by 89 runs.

In Division Two, Warmsworth failed to complete their chase in a low-scoring affair at Worsbrough.

Australian Lincoln Jacobs claimed five wickets at a cost of 31 runs as Warmsworth skittled their hosts for 158.

But Warmsworth struggled with the strike attack of Liam Hague who claimed a devastating 6-22. Chris Hadley stood alone with a defiant 49no but they crumbled to 106 all out.

Mexborough built an eight point lead at the top of Division Three East thanks to a third consecutive victory, with Whiston B the victims at Hampden Road this week.

Whiston posted a healthy 232 before falling all out to Mexborough, and it looked even more solid when the hosts slumped to 69-4.

But Ryan Tingle and Shak Jamil led the fightback. Jamil hit 71 and Tingle finished with an unbeaten 76 as Mexborough passed the total with thee balls to spare.

Hatfield Town B demolished eight man Featherstone in Pontefract League Division Five.

Featherstone posted just 58 runs with John Severn and James Winstanley each claiming three wickets.

Town needed just ten overs to complete the ten wicket win with Sharafat Hussain unbeaten on 38.

Ash Towler hit an unbeaten 65 as Askern Welfare won their Division One clash at Old Sharlston. Askern posted 166-8 from their spell before Sachira Madapatha’s five-wicket haul helped skittle Sharlston for 113.

Barnby Dun needed less than nine overs to chase down their target at Featherstone in Division Two where Rossington Main edged out Knottingley Town.