Breakdown of proposed new wards for Doncaster

Proposed New Ward Boundaries.
Proposed New Ward Boundaries.

The map of where Doncaster wards lie is set to alter dramatically, following a boundary review due to conclude this year.

Under the majority boundary proposal, that will be submitted on Monday, the number of wards will be reduced to 20 from 21, and will also have to accommodate the loss of nine councillors.

The review from the Local Government Boundary Commission for England will aim to deliver equality, with each councillor representing roughly the same number of voters, and will also attempt to ensure the new wards relect the identities of communities.

The LGBCE will set out its recommendation for where Doncaster’s new boundaries should lie in May and, if the majority proposal submission is used as guidance, 15 of the 20 wards will have three councillors.

Meanwhile the Roman Ridge, Stainforth Moorends, Thorne and Sprotbrough wards will have two councillors each and the new Tickhill ward will have just one.

The Doncaster metropolitan borough has 228,840 registered voters and, while the LGBCE has recommended that all councillors represent roughly the same number of voters, the number of electorate represented by each councillor in wards set out in the majority proposal ranges from 3,894 in Bessacarr to 4,734 in Thorne.

Wards that will be reduced significantly under the majority proposal include Thorne, where the boundary will roughly begin by the Tudworth roundabout with a significant part of the ward falling under the Hatfield boundary.

Torne Valley ward will cease, with surrounding wards like Finningley taking on more voters. Rossington will be amalgamated with Bawtry, and Town Moor ward will become Central.