the ‘bell’ toils for brough

Conisbrough played Darfield in a South Yorkshire League Division One fixture at the Conisbrough's St Peter's Drive ground on Saturday (29 June 2013). Our picture shows Darfield taking a wicket.

Conisbrough played Darfield in a South Yorkshire League Division One fixture at the Conisbrough's St Peter's Drive ground on Saturday (29 June 2013). Our picture shows Darfield taking a wicket.

Have your say

Conisbrough extended their lead at the top of the South Yorkshire Cricket League Division One - but made hard work of a two-wicket win over title rivals Darfield.

In the clash of what was first-versus-second in the league, expectations were high of a day filled with runs and wickets.

At least the latter was true at St Peter’s Drive. Darfield, batting first, were all out for just 92, inside 37 overs.

Stuart Bellwood took 5-9 for Conisbrough, and only two Darfield batsman, James Ward (27) and Tom Smyth (24), reached double figures.

It was skipper Ward and Smyth who took Darfield to 66-1 after the early loss of opener Peter Hadfield, but from there Bellwood ripped through the Darfield batting line up and they collapsed to 92 all out.

The visitors did not give up hope, however, and in their reply Conisbrough were reduced to 49-7, with the strike partnership of Paul Wilkinson and Chris Jevons working in tandem.

An unlikely Darfield victory seemed on the cards, but Bellwood had other ideas.

After punishing Darfield’s batsmen with the ball, he proceeded to punish their bowlers with the bat, too, carving a vital 28 not out to see his side home with two wickets to spare.

In a great effort, bowling throughout the entire Conisbrough innings, Wilkinson took three for 16.

Jevons, however, suffered late on from the Bellwood onslaught and finished with figures of five for 64.

Conisbrough’s eleventh straight victory moves them sixteen points clear at the top of the Division One table - 16 points clear of Tickhill, who leapfrogged Darfield into second spot with victory at Bradfield.

Australian fast bowler Mitchell Phelps took 4-26 for Tickhill as Bradfield were dismissed for 120, despite 35 from opener Mark Wragg.

Alex Rowland also starred with the ball, returning figures of five for 36.

Tickhill’s first two batsmen left without scoring, but Phelps showed his class with an unbeaten 51, including eight fours and a six, to guide Tickhill home by six wickets.

Tom Coulson took three for 29 for Bradfield.

n Wath registered a four-wicket win over Norton Woodseats at Moor Road.

Norton batted first but could only muster 106 all out.

The total could have been worse but stumper Stan Redhead improved affairs, coming in at number nine and staying to the end with 33 not out. Andy Cutts took three for nine and Mark Wilson added three for 35 for Wath.

Wath’s winning response was centred around an innings from Shawn Dyson, who reached 33. Aamir Ashfaque took three for 25 for Norton.

n Collegiate B’s quest for promotion faltered at Town Fields against Doncaster Town B.

Collegiate batted first but could do little against the bowling of James Dobson, who took three for 16 and Jonathan Redfern whose reward was 3 for 4. Collegiate crumbled to 54 all out.

Doncaster Town had difficulties too when their turn to defend came.

They lost three batsmen with just 16 runs between them and it took an excellent innings from Nicolas Wright, of 41 not out to secure the win.

n In Division Three, Maltby moved to the top of the table after beating Norton Oakes B at Muglet Lane.

Norton batted first, but apart from skipper Paul Sear who contributed 27, there was little else of note and the innings concluded at 76 all out.

Maltby’s opening strike partnership of Liam Woodward (three for 24) and Gary Mills (three for 29) are major contributors to Maltby’s success this season and each claimed three wickets.

Maltby reached a winning conclusion after losing four wickets and using 16.4 overs.

Paul Jevons was 23 not out at the close.

Warmsworth maintained their promotion position with an eight-wicket win over Millhouses B.